Hit-and-Run Laws in the United States

Hit-and-run laws can vary from state to state. A person convicted of a hit-and-run accident may face fines, jail time, license suspension, and other criminal charges. Click on one of the states below to find out more about hit-and-run laws in your state.

Alabama Hit-and-Run Law

Penalty for Injury

Class C Felony; imprisonment of (1 year, 1 day) - (10 years) AND possible fine of no more than $15,000

Penalty for Death

Class C Felony; imprisonment of (1 year, 1 day) - (10 years) AND possible fine of not more than $15,000

Penalty for Damage to Vehicle Driven/Attended by Person

Class A Misdemeanor; imprisonment of not more than 1 years AND possible fine of not more than $6,000

Penalty for Striking Unattended Vehicle

Class A Misdemeanor; imprisonment of not more than 1 years AND possible fine of not more than $6,000

Back to Top

Alaska Hit-and-Run Law

Penalty for Injury

Imprisonment not more than 10 years and/or a fine of not more than $10,000

Penalty for Death

Imprisonment not more than 10 years and/or a fine of not more than $10,000

Penalty for Damage to Vehicle Driven/Attended by Person

Imprisonment not more than 1 year and/or a fine of $500

Back to Top

Arizona Hit-and-Run Law

Penalty for Injury

Serious Injury:

  • Driver's license/nonresident operating privilege revoked for 5 years (not including time spent in jail)
  • Class 3 Misdemeanor; imprisonment of not more than 30 days AND possible fine of not more than $500
  • Class 3 Felony; imprisonment of 2.5-7 years AND possible fine of not more than $150,000
  • If driver caused accident: Class 2 Felony; imprisonment of 4-10 years AND possible fine of not more than $150,000

Any Other type of Injury:

  • Driver's License/nonresident operating privilege revoked 3 years
  • Class 3 Misdemeanor; imprisonment of not more than 30 days AND possible fine of not more than $500
  • Class 5 Felony; imprisonment of .75-2 years AND possible fine of not more than $150,000

Penalty for Death

  • Class 3 Felony; imprisonment of 2.5-7 years AND possible fine of not more than $150,000
  • If driver caused the accident: Class 2 Felony; imprisonment of 4-10 years AND possible fine of not more than $150,000
  • Driver's license/nonresident operating privilege revoked for 10 years (not including time spent in jail)

Penalty for Damage to Vehicle Driven/Attended by Person

  • Class 3 Misdemeanor; imprisonment of not more than 30 days AND possible fine of not more than $500
  • Class 2 Misdemeanor; imprisonment of not more than 4 months AND possible fine of not more than $750
  • License/nonresident operating privilege revoked for 1 year
Back to Top

Arkansas Hit-and-Run Law

Penalty for Injury

Class D Felony; imprisonment of not more than 6 years AND possible fine of not more than $10,000

Revoke driver's license/nonresident operating privilege

Penalty for Death

Class D Felon; imprisonment of not more than 6 years AND possible fine of not more than $10,000

Revoke driver's license/nonresident operating privilege

Penalty for Damage to Vehicle Driven/Attended by Person

Class D Felony; imprisonment of not more than 6 years AND possible fine of not more than $10,000

Revocation of driver's license/nonresident operating privilege

Back to Top

California Hit-and-Run Law

Penalty for Injury

Imprisonment not more than 1 year in the state prison or county jail AND/OR $1,000-$10,000 fine

5 years in state prison for "fleeing"

Penalty for Death

Imprisonment in state prison for 2, 3 or 4 years or county jail for 90 days-- 1 year AND/OR $1,000 - $10,000 fine (also punishment for permanent serious injury)

5 years in state prison for "fleeing"

Penalty for Damage to Vehicle Driven/Attended by Person

Misdemeanor: max imprisonment of 6 months and/or a maximum fine of $1,000

Penalty for Striking Unattended Vehicle

Misdemeanor: max imprisonment of 6 months and/or a maximum fine of $1,000

"fleeing" = a person who flees the scene of the accident after committing a violation of Cal Pen Code § 191.5 or Cal Pen Code § 192 (dealing with vehiclular manslaughter and vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated). If a person flees in the aforementioned fashion, they, "in addition and consecutive to the punishment prescribed [by § 191.5 and § 192], shall be punished by an additional term of imprisonment of five years in the state prison."

Back to Top

Colorado Hit-and-Run Law

Penalty for Injury

Class 1 Misdemeanortraffic offense; Revocation of driver's license/nonresident operating privilege

Serious Injury

Class 4 Felony; imprisonment of 2-6 years plus 3 years of parole AND/OR fine of $500,000Revocation of driver's license

Penalty for Death

Class 3 Felony; imprisonment of 4-12 years plus 5 years of parole AND/OR fine of $750,000 Revocation of driver's license/nonresident operating privilege

Penalty for Damage to Vehicle Driven/Attended by Person

Class 2 Misdemeanor Traffic Offense

Back to Top

Connecticut Hit-and-Run Law

Penalty for Injury

Imprisonment maximum of 1 year AND/OR fine of $75-$600

Any subsequent offense: Imprisonment maximum of 1 year AND/OR fine of $100-$1,000

Penalty for Death

Imprisonment 1 year to 10 years AND/OR fine of not more than $10,000 (also punishment for serious physical injury)

Back to Top

Delaware Hit-and-Run Law

Penalty for Injury

  • Unclassified Misdemeanor
  • Fine of $1,000 to $3,000 OR Imprisoned 1 - 2 years
  • Revoke driver's license/nonresident operating privilege 1 year

Penalty for Death

  • Class E Felony
  • "A period of incarceration of not less than 1 year and the first 6 months of any sentence imposed shall not be suspended."
  • Revoke driver's license for 2 years

Penalty for Damage to Vehicle Driven/Attended by Person

Fine of $230-$1150 OR Imprisonment 60 days - 6 months

Back to Top

Washington, D.C. Hit-and-Run Law

Penalty for Injury

1st offense: Imprisoned no more than 180 days AND/OR maximum fine of $1,000

2nd or more offense: imprisoned no more than 1 year AND/OR maximum fine of $2,500

Penalty for Damage to Vehicle Driven/Attended by Person

1st offense: Imprisoned not more than 30 days AND/OR maximum fine of $250

2nd or more offense: imprisoned not more than 90 days AND/OR maximum fine of $500

Penalty for Striking Unattended Vehicle

1st offense: Imprisoned not more than 30 days AND/OR maximum fine of $100

2nd or more offense: imprisoned not more than 90 days AND/OR maximum fine of $300

Back to Top

Florida Hit-and-Run Accident Laws

Penalty for Injury

  • 3rd Degree Felony
  • Revocation of driver's license/nonresident operating privilege
  • May have to serve 120 community service hours in a trauma center or hospital that regularly receives victims of vehicle accidents

Penalty for Death

  • 1st Degree Felony
  • If committed while under the influence: mandatory minimum sentence of 2 years imprisonment
  • Revocation of driver's license/nonresident operating privilege
  • May have to serve 120 community service hours in a trauma center or hospital that regularly receives victims of vehicle accidents
  • If committed after convictions of violations of § 316.061, § 316.191, or § 316.193, or a felony violation of §322.34, offender is held in custody until brought before the court for admittance to bail

Penalty for Damage to Vehicle Driven/Attended by Person

2nd Degree Misdemeanor + $5 fine for the Emergency Medical Services Trust Fund

Penalty for Striking Unattended Vehicle

2nd Degree Misdemeanor + $5 fine for the Emergency Medical Services Trust Fund

Back to Top

Georgia Hit-and-Run Accident Laws

Penalty for Injury

  • Fine $300-$1,000 AND/OR Imprisonment up to 1 year
  • 2nd conviction within a 5 year period: $600-$1,000 fine AND/OR imprisonment up to 1 year
  • 3rd or subsequent conviction within 5 year period: $1,000 AND/OR imprisonment up to 1 year

Penalty for Death

  • Felony
  • Imprisonment 1 year-5 years

Penalty for Injury or Damage to Vehicle Driven/Attended by Person

  • Misdemeanor
  • Fine $300-$1,000 AND/OR Imprisonment up to 1 year
  • 2nd conviction within a 5 year period: $600-$1,000 fine AND/OR imprisonment up to 1 year
  • 3rd or subsequent conviction within 5 year period: $1,000 AND/OR imprisonment up to 1 year
Back to Top

Hawaii's Hit-and-Run Accident Laws

Penalty for Injury

Substantial bodily injury:

  • Class C Felony; imprisonment of no more than 5 years AND possible fine of no more than $10,000
  • $250 fine for neurotrauma special fund
  • $250 fine for trauma system special fund

Bodily injury

  • Misdemeanor; imprisonment of no more than 1 year AND possible fine of no more than $2,000
  • $100 fine for neurotrauma special fund
  • $100 fine for trauma system special fund

Penalty for Death/Serious Bodily Injury

  • Class B Felony Revocation of driver's license/nonresident operating privilege
  • $500 fine for neurotrauma special fund
  • $500 fine for trauma system special fund

Penalty for Damage to Vehicle Driven/Attended by Person

$100 fine may be imposed for trauma system special fund

Penalty for Striking Unattended Vehicle

$100 fine may be imposed for trauma system special fund

Back to Top

Idaho's Hit-and-Run Accident Laws

Penalty for Injury

  • Felony
  • Fine up to $5,000 AND/OR imprisonment up to 5 years
  • Revocation of license for 1 year

Penalty for Death

  • Felony
  • Fine up to $5,000 AND/OR imprisonment up to 5 years
  • Revocation of license for 1 year

Penalty for Damage to Vehicle Driven/Attended by Person

  • Misdemeanor
  • Revocation of license for 1 year
Back to Top

Illinois' Hit-and-Run Accident Laws

Penalty for Injury

  • Failure to stop at scene of accident: Class 4 Felony; imprisonment of 1-3 years AND possible fine of no more than $25,000
  • Failure to report accident to police: Class 2 Felony; imprisonment of 3-7 years AND possible fine of not more than $25,000
  • Revocation of driver's license/nonresident operating privilege

Penalty for Death

  • Failure to stop at scene of accident: Class 4 Felony; imprisonment of 1-3 years AND possible fine of not more than $25,000
  • Failure to report accident to police: Class 1 Felony; imprisonment of 4-15 years AND possible fine of not more than $25,000
  • Revocation of driver's license/nonresident operating privilege

Penalty for Damage to Vehicle Driven/Attended by Person

Class A Misdemeanor; imprisonment of less than one year AND possible fine of no more than $2,500

Upon a finding that the damage to a vehicle is in excess of $1,000: Secretary of State shall suspend driver's license

Penalty for Striking Unattended Vehicle

Class A Misdemeanor; imprisonment of less than one year AND possible fine of not more than $2,500

Back to Top

Indiana's Hit-and-Run Accident Laws

Penalty for Injury

  • Class A misdemeanor; imprisonment of not more than one year AND possible fine of not more than $1,000
  • Penalty for Serious Bodily Injury (Or if driver has a previous conviction of any of the offenses listed in IC 9-30-5-4): Level 6 felony; imprisonment of 6 months- 2.5 years, with the advisory sentence being one (1) year AND possible fine of not more than $10,000
  • Penalty for Serious Bodily Injury if Driver was Intoxicated: Level 3 felony; imprisonment for 2-12 years, with the advisory entence being four (4) years AND possible fine of not more than $10,000

Penalty for Death

Level 5 felony; imprisonment of 1-6 years, with the advisory sentence being two (2) years AND possible fine of not more than $10,000

Penalty for Damage to Vehicle Driven/Attended by Person

Class B Misdemeanor; imprisonment of not more than 180 days AND possible fine of not more than $1,000

Penalty for Striking Unattended Vehicle

Class B Misdemeanor; imprisonment of not more than 180 days AND possible fine of not more than $1,000

Back to Top

Iowa's Hit-and-Run Accident Laws

Penalty for Injury

Serious misdemeanor

Serious injury: Aggravated misdemeanor

Revocation of driver's license/nonresident operating privilege

Penalty for Death

Class D Felony

Revocation of driver's license

Penalty for Damage to Vehicle Driven/Attended by Person

Misdemeanor

Back to Top

Kansas' Hit-and-Run Accident Laws

Penalty for Injury

Injury: Class A Person Misdemeanor

Great Bodily Harm: Severity Level 8, Person Felony

Penalty for Death

Severity Level 6, Person Felony

If person knew or reasonably should have known that accident resulted in injury or death: Level 5, Person Felony

Penalty for Damage to Vehicle Driven/Attended by Person

Property damages less than $1,000: Misdemeanor

Property damages greater than $1,000: Class A Person Misdemeanor

Penalty for Striking Unattended Vehicle

Misdemeanor

Back to Top

Kentucky's Hit-and-Run Accident Laws

Penalty for Injury

Fine of $20 to $2,000 AND/OR imprisionment in county jail up to one year

Penalty for Death

Fine of $20 to $2,000 AND/OR imprisionment in county jail up to one year

Penalty for Death or Serious Physical Injury where the Person Knew or Should Have Known of the Death or Serious Physical Injury

Class D felony

Penalty for Damage to Vehicle Driven/Attended by Person

$20-$2,000 fine AND/OR up to 1 year imprisonment

Back to Top

Louisiana's Hit-and-Run Accident Laws

Penalty for Injury

No more than $500 fine AND/OR no more than 6 months imprisonment

Penalty for Death

Death or serious bodily injury is a direct result of the accident when driver knew or should have known that death or serious bodily injury has occurred: Maximum fine up to $5,000 AND/OR maximum imprisonment of no more than 10 years

Death or serious bodily injury as a direct result of the accident, the driver knew or must have known that the vehicle he was operating was involved in an accident or that his operation of the vehicle was the direct cause of an accident, AND the driver had previously been convicted of driving while intoxicated/impaired, vehicular homicide, vehicular negligent injuring, or first degree vehicular negligent injuring: Imprisonment of not less than 5 years and not more than 20 years

Penalty for Damage to Vehicle Driven/Attended by Person

No more than $500 fine AND/OR no more than 6 months imprisonment

Penalty for Striking Unattended Vehicle

No more than $500 fine AND/OR no more than 6 months imprisonment

Back to Top

Maine's Hit-and-Run Accident Laws

Penalty for Injury

Class D Crime

Penalty for Death

Class D Crime

If done so intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly and causes serious bodily injury/death: Class C Crime

Penalty for Damage to Vehicle Driven/Attended by Person

Class E Crime

Penalty for Striking Unattended Vehicle

Class E Crime

Back to Top

Maryland's Hit-and-Run Accident Laws

Penalty for Serious Bodily Injury Where Driver Knew or Reasonably Should Have Known that the Accident Might Result in Serious Bodily Injury to Another Person:

Felony; imprisonment up to 5 years AND/OR fine up to $5,000

Penalty for Death Where Driver Knew or Reasonably Should Have Known that the Accident Might Result in the Death of Another Person:

Felony; imprisonment up to 10 years AND/OR fine up to $10,000

Penalty for Accident Resulting Only in Damage to Attended Vehicle or Property:

Misdemeanor; fine of not more than $500 AND/OR imprisonment for not more than 2 months

Penalty for Striking Unattended Vehicle:

Misdemeanor; fine of not more than $500 AND/OR imprisonment for not more than 2 months

Back to Top

Massachusetts' Hit-and-Run Accident Laws

Penalty for Injury

Fine of $500-$1,000 AND/OR imprisionment for 6 months-2 years Revocation of driver's license/nonresident operating privilege/nonresident operating privilege

Penalty for Death

Revocation of driver's license/nonresident operating privilege/nonresident operating privilege AND Imprisionment in state prison for 2.5-10 years AND fine of $1,000-$5,000 OR Fine of $1,000-$5,000 and imprisonment in a jail or house of correction for 1-2.5 years

Penalty for Damage only to Vehicle or Other Property

Fine of $20-$100 AND/OR imprisonment for 2 weeks-2 years

Back to Top

Michigan's Hit-and-Run Accident Laws

Penalty for Injury:

Injury: Misdemeanor

Imprisonment up to 1 year AND/OR fine up to $1,000

Suspension of driver's license

Serious bodily injury:
Imprisonment up to 5 years AND/OR fine up to $5,000

Penalty for Death

Imprisonment up to 15 years AND/OR fine up to $10,000

Penalty for Damage to Vehicle Driven/Attended by Person

Misdemeanor

Imprisonment up to 90 days AND/OR fine up to $100

Penalty for Damage to Unattended Vehicle

Misdemeanor

Imprisonment up to 90 days AND/OR fine up to $100

Back to Top

Minnesota's Hit-and-Run Accident Laws

Penalty for Injury

  • Misdemeanor
  • Imprisonment up to 1 year AND/OR fine up to $1,000
  • Suspension of driver's license

Substantial bodily injury:

  • Imprisonment up to 5 years AND/OR fine up to $5,000

Penalty for Death

  • Imprisonment up to 15 years AND/OR fine up to $10,000

Penalty for Damage to Vehicle Driven/Attended by Person

Misdemeanor

Imprisonment up to 90 days AND/OR fine up to $100

Penalty for Striking Unattended Vehicle

Misdemeanor

Imprisonment up to 90 days AND/OR fine up to $100

Back to Top

Mississippi's Hit-and-Run Accident Laws

Penalty for Injury

The penalty for injuries caused by a hit-and-run accident in Mississippi is imprisonment for 30 days to 1 year and/or a fine of $100-$5,000, as well as revocation of driver's license.

Penalty for Death or Serious Physical Injury

The penalty for a hit-and-run accident conviction that caused one or more deaths (or serious physical injury) is a felony punishable by imprisonment of 5-20 years and/or a fine of $1,000-$10,000, as well as revocation of driver's license.

The penalty for a hit-and-run accident that causes damage to a vehicle driven or occupied by a person is a misdemeanor.

Back to Top

Penalty for Injury or Death

The penalty for injuries or death caused by a hit-and-run accident in Missouri is a Class D felony, a fine of not more than $5,000, and/or imprisonment of not more than four years.

Property Damage

The penalty for a hit-and-run accident that causes damage to a vehicle drivern or occupied by a person is a Class A misdemeanor if the property damage is less than $1,000.

It is a Class D felony if property damage is in excess of $1,000 or the defendant has a prior violation.

Back to Top

Montana's Hit-and-Run Accident Laws

Penalty for Injury

Fine of $100-$5,000 AND/OR imprisonment of 30 days-one year

Penalty for Serious Bodily Injury or Death

  • Fine of not more than $50,000 and/or imprisonment in state prison for 1-10 years
  • Revocation of driver's license

Penalty for Damage to Vehicle Driven/Attended by Person

Misdemeanor

  • First Conviction: Fine of $200-$300 OR imprisonment for not more than 20 days
  • Second Conviction within one year: Fine of $300-$400 and/or imprisonment for not more than 30 days
  • Third or subsequenct conviction within one year: Fine of $400-$500 and/or imprisonment of not more than six months
Back to Top

Nebraska's Hit-and-Run Accident Laws

Penalty for Injury:

Class IIIA felony; fine of not more than $10,000 AND/OR imprisonment of not more than five years

Penalty for Serious Bodily Injury or Death:

Class III felony; fine of not more than $25,000 AND/OR imprisonment of 1-20 years

Penalty for Damage to Vehicle Driven/Attended by Person:

Possible Revocation of driver's license/nonresident operating privilege for up to one year

  • If first offense in the previous 12 years: Class II misdemeanor; fine of not more than $1,000 AND/OR imprisonment of not more than six months
  • If second or subsequent offense in the previous 12 years: Class I misdemeanor; fine of not more than $1,000 AND/OR imprisonment of not more than one year

Penalty for Striking Unattended Vehicle:

Possible Revocation of driver's license/nonresident operating privilege for up to one year

  • If first offense in the previous 12 years: Class II misdemeanor; fine of not more than $1,000 AND/OR imprisonment of not more than six months
  • If second or subsequent offense in the previous 12 years: Class I misdemeanor; fine of not more than $1,000 AND/OR imprisonment of not more than one year
Back to Top

Nevada's Hit-and-Run Accident Laws

Penalty for Bodily Injury or Death:

Category B felony; fine of $2,000-$5,000 AND imprisonment of 2-15 years and possible suspension of driver's license for up to one year

Penalty for Damage to Vehicle Driven/Attended by Person:

Possible suspension of driver's license for up to one year

Penalty for Striking Unattended Vehicle:

Possible suspension of driver's license for up to one year

Back to Top

New Hampshire's Hit-and-Run Accident Laws

Penalty for Death or Personal Injury:

Class B felony; imprisonment of not more than 7 years

Penalty for Damage to Property:

Misdemeanor

Back to Top

New Jersey's Hit-and-Run Accident Laws

Penalty for Injury or Death

Fine of $2,500-$5,000 and/or imprisonment for a period of 180 days

  • First offense: suspension of license for one year
  • Subsequent offense: permanent Revocation of driver's license/nonresident operating privilege
    • If accident results in serious bodily injury to another person: crime of the third degree; fine of $15,000 and/or imprisonment for 3-5 years
    • If accident results in death of another person: crime of the second degree; fine of $150,000 and/or imprisonment for 5-10 years

Penalty for Damage to a Vehicle Only

  • First offense: suspension of license for six months; fine of $200-$400 and/or imprisonment for not more than 30 days
  • Subsequent offenses: suspension of license for one year; fine of $400-$600 and/or imprisonment for 30-90 days
Back to Top

New Mexico's Hit-and-Run Accident Laws

Penalty for Accidents Without Injuries:

  • Misdemeanor; fine of not more than $1,000 AND/OR imprisonment in the county jail for a term of less than one year
  • Revocation of driver's license/nonresident operating privilege

Penalty for Serious Injury or Death:

  • Fourth degree felony; 18 months of imprisonment
  • Revocation of driver's license/nonresident operating privilege

Penalty Where Driver KNOWINGLY Fails to Stop and Accident Results in Great Bodily Harm:

  • Third degree felony; three years imprisonment
  • Revocation of driver's license/nonresident operating privilege

Penalty Where Driver KNOWINGLY Fails to Stop and Accident Results in Death:

  • Third degree felony; six years imprisonment
  • Revocation of driver's license/nonresident operating privilege
Back to Top

New York's Hit-and-Run Accident Laws

Penalty for Damage to Property:

  • Traffic infraction; fine of up to $250 AND/OR imprisonment for up to 15 days

Penalty for Accident Resulting in Serious Injury:

  • Class E felony; fine of $1,000-$2,500 AND imprisonment for not more than 4 years

Penalty for Accident Resulting in Death:

  • Class D felony; fine of $1,000-$2,500 AND imprisonment for not more than 7 years
Back to Top

New York's Hit-and-Run Accident Laws

Penalty for Damage to Property:

  • Traffic infraction; fine of up to $250 AND/OR imprisonment for up to 15 days

Penalty for Accident Resulting in Serious Injury:

  • Class E felony; fine of $1,000-$2,500 AND imprisonment for not more than 4 years

Penalty for Accident Resulting in Death:

  • Class D felony; fine of $1,000-$2,500 AND imprisonment for not more than 7 years
Back to Top

North Dakota's Hit-and-Run Accident Laws

Penalty for Injury:

  • Revocation of driver's license/nonresident operating privilege
  • Class A misdemeanor; fine of not more than $3,000 AND/OR imprisonment of not more than one year

Penalty for Serious Personal Injury:

  • Revocation of driver's license/nonresident operating privilege
  • Class C felony; fine of not more than $10,000 AND/OR imprisonment of not more than five years

Penalty for Death:

  • Revocation of driver's license/nonresident operating privilege
  • Class B felony; fine of not more than $20,000 AND/OR imprisonment of not more than ten years

Penalty for Damage to Vehicle Driven/Attended by Person:

  • Class B misdemeanor; fine of not more than $1,500 AND/OR imprisonment of not more than 30 days

Penalty for Damage to Unattended Vehicle:

  • Class A misdemeanor; fine of not more than $3,000 AND/OR imprisonment of not more than one year
Back to Top

Ohio's Hit-and-Run Accident Laws

Penalty for Injury to Person:

  • Class five suspension of driver's license/nonresident operating privilege
  • Misdemeanor of the first degree; fine of not more than $1,000 AND/OR imprisonment of not more than 180 days

Penalty for Serious Injury to Person:

  • Class five suspension of driver's license/nonresident operating privilege
  • Felony of the fifth degree; fine of not more than $2,500 AND/OR imprisonment of 6-12 months

Penalty for Death of a Person:

  • Class five suspension of driver's license/nonresident operating privilege
  • Felony of the third degree; fine of not more than $10,000 AND/OR imprisonment of 9, 12, 18, 24, 30, or 36 months

Penalty for Damage to Attended Vehicle:

  • Class five suspension of driver's license/nonresident operating privilege
  • Misdemeanor of the first degree; fine of not more than $1,000 AND/OR imprisonment of not more than 180 days

Penalty for Damage to Unattended Vehicle:

  • Class five suspension of driver's license/nonresident operating privilege
  • Misdemeanor of the first degree; fine of not more than $1,000 AND/OR imprisonment of not more than 180 days
Back to Top

Oklahoma's Hit-and-Run Accident Laws

Penalty for Nonfatal Injury to Person:

  • Revocation of driver's license/nonresident operating privilege
  • Felony; fine of $50-$1000 and/or imprisonment of two days-five years

Penalty for Death of Person:

  • Revocation of license/nonresident operating privilege
  • Felony; fine of $1,000-$10,000 and/or imprisonment of 1-10 years

Penalty for Damage to Vehicle Driven/Attended by Person:

  • Misdemeanor; fine of not more than $500 and/or imprisonment in county jail for not more than one year
Back to Top

Oregon's Hit-and-Run Accident Laws

Penalty for Injury to Person:

  • Class C felony
  • Court may impose a duty to pay an amount of money equal to the damages imposed by the accident and a fine of not more than $125,000 and/OR imprisonment of not more than 5 years

Penalty for Serious Injury or Death:

  • Class B felony
  • Court may impose a duty to pay an amount of money equal to the damages imposed by the accident and a fine of not more than $250,000 and/OR imprisonment of not more than 10 years

Penalty for Damaged Property:

  • Class A misdemeanor
  • Court may impose a duty to pay an amount of money equal to the damages imposed by the accident and a fine of not more than $6,250 and/OR imprisonment of not more than 1 year
Back to Top

Pennsylvania's Hit-and-Run Accident Laws

Penalty for Injury:

  • Misdemeanor of the first degree; fine of not more than $10,000 AND/OR imprisonment of not more than five years

Penalty for Serious Bodily Injury:

  • Felony of the third degree; mandatory minimum fine of $1,000 AND imprisonment of not less than 90 days

Penalty for Death:

  • Felony of the second degree; mandatory minimum fine of $2,500 AND imprisonment of not less than three years, notwithstanding any other provision of law

Penalty for Damage to an Attended Vehicle or Property:

  • Misdemeanor of the third degree; fine of $2,500 AND/OR imprisonment of not more than one year

Penalty for Damage to an Unattended Vehicle:

  • Summary offense; fine of $300 AND/OR imprisonment of not more than 90 days
Back to Top

Rhode Island's Hit-and-Run Accident Laws

Penalty for Injury:

  • Mandatory loss of license for 1-5 years
  • Fine of not more than $5,000 AND/OR imprisonment of not more than 5 years

Penalty for Serious Bodily Injury:

  • First offense: License revoked for up to two years (subject to the sentencing judge's discretion) AND fine of $1,000-$5,000 AND imprisonment of 1-10 years
  • Second or subsequent offense within a 5 year period: License revoked for up to two years AND fine of $3,000-$10,000 AND imprisonment of 2-15 years

Penalty for Death:

  • First offense: License revoked for 3 years AND fine of $5,000-$10,000 AND imprisonment in state prison for 2-15 years
  • Second or subsequent offense within a 5 years period: License revoked for 5 years AND fine of $10,000-$20,000 AND imprisonment in state prison for 5-20 years

Penalty for Damage to Vehicle Driven/Attended by Person:

  • Misdemeanor; License or operating privilege in the state may be suspended for up to 6 months AND/OR fine of $500-$1,000 AND/OR imprisonment of not more than 6 months
Back to Top

South Carolina's Hit-and-Run Accident Laws

Penalty for Injury:

  • Revocation of driver's license
  • Misdemeanor; fine of $100-$5,000 AND/OR imprisonment 30 days to 1 year

Penalty for Serious Injury:

  • Revocation of driver's license
  • Felony; fine of $5,000-$10,000 AND imprisonment of 30 days to 10 years

Penalty for Death:

  • Revocation of driver's license
  • Fine of $10,000-$25,000 AND imprisonment of 1 to 25 years

Penalty for Damage to Vehicle Driven/Attended by Person:

  • Misdemeanor; fine of $500-$1,000 AND/OR imprisonment of not more than one year
Back to Top

South Dakota's Hit-and-Run Accident Laws

Penalty for Death or Personal Injury:

  • Class 6 Felony; Fine of $2,000 AND/OR 2 years imprisonment

Penalty for Damage to Vehicle/Property:

  • Class 1 Misdemeanor; fine of no more than $2,000 AND/OR no more than 1 year imprisonment

Penalty for Damage to Unattended Vehicle/Property:

  • Class 2 Misdemeanor; fine of no more than $500 AND/OR no more than 30 days imprisonment
Back to Top

Tennessee's Hit-and-Run Accident Laws

Penalty for Death or Personal Injury:

  • Revocation of driver's license
  • Class A Misdemeanor; fine not to exceed $2,500 AND/OR imprisonment of no greater than 11 months and 19 days

If Driver Knew or Should Have Known That Death Resulted:

  • Class E Felony; imprisonment of no less than 1 year and no more than 6 years, and jury may assess fine of no more than $3,000
Back to Top

Texas Hit-and-Run Accident Laws

Penalty for Personal Injury:

  • Fine of no greater than $5,000 AND/OR imprisonment in the institutional division of the Texas Department of Criminal Justice for no greater than 5 years OR confinement in the county jail for no greater than 1 year.

Penalty for Death:

  • Fine of no greater than $5,000 AND/OR imprisonment in the institutional division of the Texas Department of Criminal Justice for no greater than 5 years OR confinement in the county jail for no greater than 1 year.
  • State Jail Felony may be assessed; confinement in state jail for no greater than 2 years and no fewer than 180 days, fine of no greater than $10,000 may also be assessed
Back to Top

Utah's Hit-and-Run Accident Laws

Penalty for Injury, Death, or Property Damage:

  • Class A Misdemeanor; imprisonment of no greater than 1 year
  • AND fine no less than $750 if results in injury or death
Back to Top

Vermont's Hit-and-Run Accident Laws

Penalty for Personal Injury:

  • Fine of no more than $2,000 AND/OR imprisonment of no more than 2 years

Penalty for Serious Injury:

  • Fine of no more than $3,000 AND/OR imprisonment of no more than 5 years

Penalty for Death:

  • Fine of no more than $3,000 AND/OR imprisonment of no less than 1 year and no more than 15 years
Back to Top

Virginia's Hit-and-Run Accident Laws

Penalty for Property Damage Less than $1,000:

  • Class 1 Misdemeanor; fine of no more than $2,500 AND/OR imprisonment for no more than 12 months

Penalty for Personal Injury, Death, Property Damage More than $1,000:

  • Class 5 Felony; fine of no more than $2,500 AND/OR imprisonment of not less than 1 year nor more than 10 years, or confinement in jail for not more than 12 months
Back to Top

Virginia's Hit-and-Run Accident Laws

Penalty for Property Damage Less than $1,000:

  • Class 1 Misdemeanor; fine of no more than $2,500 AND/OR imprisonment for no more than 12 months

Penalty for Personal Injury, Death, Property Damage More than $1,000:

  • Class 5 Felony; fine of no more than $2,500 AND/OR imprisonment of not less than 1 year nor more than 10 years, or confinement in jail for not more than 12 months
Back to Top

West Virginia's Hit-and-Run Accident Laws

Penalty for Death:

  • Revocation of driver's license for 1 year
  • Felony; fine of no more than $5,000 AND/OR confinement in correctional facility for not less than 1 year but no more than 5 years

Penalty for Personal Injury:

  • Revocation of driver's license for 1 year
  • Misdemeanor; fine of no more than $1,000 AND/OR confinement in county or regional jail for no more than 1 year
Back to Top

Wisconsin's Hit-and-Run Accident Laws

Penalty for Property Damage:

  • Fine no less than $300 and no more than AND/OR imprisonment for no more than 6 months

Penalty for Personal Injury:

  • Fine no more than $10,000 AND/OR imprisonment for no more than 9 months

Penalty for Serious Bodily Injury:

  • Class E Felony; fine no more than $50,000 AND/OR imprisonment for no more than 15 years

Penalty for Death:

  • Class D Felony; fine no more than $100,000 AND/OR imprisonment for no more than 25 years
Back to Top

Wyoming's Hit-and-Run Accident Laws

Penalty for Personal Injury/Death:

  • Fine of no more than $5,000 AND/OR imprisonment for no more than 1 year

Penalty for Damage to Vehicle/Property:

  • Misdemeanor; fine of no more than $750 AND/OR imprisonment in county jail for no more than 6 months
Back to Top

Need more information on state laws? Learn more about the laws where you live.

Note: Our attorneys are licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, Maryland, and Virginia. This information is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the states of Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, and Virginia, although if you are injured in an accident, we have relationships with other personal injury attorneys and lawyers throughout the United States.

Free Case Review
First Name
Last Name
ZIP
Phone
Email
Briefly describe your injuries