Pennsylvania Seat Belt Law
Driver and Passenger Seat Belt Laws in Pennsylvania
- Section 4581 (a)(3) Restraint Systems
- A driver who is under 18 may not operate a motor vehicle in which the number of passengers exceeds the number of available seat belts in the vehicle.
- FINE: $10.00 plus CAT, EMS, and JCP – no court costs assessed.
- Section 4581 (a)(2) Restraint Systems
- Driver and all front seat passengers must be restrained.
- Drivers are responsible for themselves and to secure all children from 8 years of age up to 18 years of age in a seat belt system anywhere in the vehicle.
- Exemptions include carriers of medical or psychological excuses signed by a physician, rural letter carriers, deliverers of goods or service vehicle operators driving at speeds less than 15 mph and making frequent stops, drivers, and front seat passengers of automobiles manufactured before July 1, 1966.
- FINE: $10.00 plus CAT, EMS, and JCP when convicted of a primary offense.
Child Seat Belt Laws in Pennsylvania
- Section 4581 (a)(1) Restraint Systems
- All drivers are responsible to secure children from birth to age 8 in an approved child passenger restraint system.
- FINE: Maximum fine of $100.00 plus court costs, CAT, EMS, JCP, or proof of car seat purchase.
Need more information on state laws? Learn more about the laws where you live.
- Section 4581 (a)(1.l)
- All drivers are responsible to secure children from 4 years of age up to 8 years of age in a seat belt system and an appropriately fitting child booster seat.
- Exemptions are allowed under the law.
- FINE: Failure to comply with the provisions in 4581 (a)(1.1) shall be guilty of a summary offense with a maximum fine of $100.00 plus CAT, EMS, JCP, or proof of car seat purchase.
Free Case Review