Medical Expense Benefits
Get to Know Your Medical Expense Benefits
Pennsylvania is a state with "first party benefits," though most drivers aren't exactly sure what that means. Basically, after a car accident, your own car insurance is responsible for your medical costs up to the limits specified by your policy. After your limit is reached, it's up to your own health insurance to pick up the rest of your injury expenses.
When selecting your policy, it's important to understand what hospital visits, surgeries, and other medical expenses might cost after a car accident injury. The state minimum requirement for Medical Expense Benefits is only $5,000, and most injured people will attest that $5,000 isn't going to cover much when it comes to your injury expenses. Not to mention, your personal health insurance may not cover certain procedures necessary to your recovery.
Don't Get Stuck With the Bill – Get Yourself Covered
Pennsylvania minimum required Medical Expense coverage:
Our law firm's recommended minimum coverage:
We recommend at least $10,000 for Medical Expense Benefits on your car insurance. Even if you're confident in your health insurance company, they may try to recover expenses if you receive a settlement. In some cases, this could leave you with nothing after an accident.
Remember, if you don't have your own personal health insurance, increasing the limits for your Medical Expense Benefits could be the only thing that protects you in the event of a car accident injury. You may be personally responsible for medical costs that go beyond your policy's limits. So make sure to revisit your plan if you need to change your coverage.
This guide is not a complete summary of the Pennsylvania Auto Insurance Law. It is designed to highlight certain important features of this law and should not be considered legal advice. Everyone has different insurance needs. If you have any questions concerning your coverage, please contact your insurance company representative.