Hit-and-Run Accident Laws & Penalties
When a person is injured in a car accident, pedestrian accident, bicycle accident, motorcycle accident, or truck accident, every second counts. If a driver hits another vehicle and leaves the scene, the victim could suffer worse injuries, or even die.
That's why many states, including Pennsylvania, have hit-and-run laws that penalize drivers who flee an accident scene.
As of September 4, 2012, Pennsylvania increased the penalties for people convicted of a fatal hit-and-run accident.
Pennsylvania Fatal Hit-and-Run Accident Law Penalties
According to Pennsylvania law, a driver of any type of vehicle (car, SUV, truck, van, tractor-trailer, or motorcycle) involved in an accident that causes injury or death must stop and stay at the scene of the accident until medical help arrives. Even if no one is injured, a driver is required to give their name and address, and present their registration and license.
Under the new law, drivers caught and convicted of causing a fatal hit-and-run accident will face anywhere from one to 10 years in prison. The crime is now a second-degree felony and carries fines of up to $2,500 as well.
Hit-and-Run Law in Accidents Involving Serious Bodily Injury
If the victim of a hit-and-run accident sustains serious bodily injury, then the driver will be charged with a third-degree felony. If convicted, the driver faces a minimum prison sentence of 90 days and a minimum fine of $1,000.
Were You Injured in a Hit-and-Run Accident?
If you, or someone you love, were injured in a hit-and-run accident, you have reason to be angry and upset. You were hurt, and another driver left you to deal with everything on your own.
At Edgar Snyder & Associates, we've protected the rights of over 50,000 injured people for over 35 years. We're ready to do the same for you – whether you were injured as a pedestrian, on a bicycle, or in any type of car accident. We have the experience and resources to identify the driver who hit you, gather evidence to build a solid case, and fight to get you the compensation you deserve.
But, evidence disappears quickly – don't wait. Call 1-866-943-3427, or fill out the form at the top right of this webpage for a no obligation, free legal consultation. Our phones answer 24/7, or you can use our convenient "click to call" service. Find out if you have a case today.