Car and Motorcycle Insurance Laws by State

This section provides a state-by-state summary of insurance requirements and optional insurance coverages for cars and motorcycles as regulated by the laws of each state.

Alabama Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury Liability Coverage

  • $25,000 per person injured in any one accident and
  • $50,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

Required Minimum Property Damage Liability Coverage

  • $25,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Optional Insurance Coverage

  • Uninsured Motorist Coverage (UM). Under Alabama law, an uninsured motorist includes an underinsured motorist. If a person chooses to purchase UM coverage, the policy must provide a minimum bodily injury or death benefit of $25,000 per person in one accident or $50,000 for all persons in one accident.
Back to Top

Alaska Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury Liability Coverage

  • $50,000 per person injured in any one accident and $100,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

Required Minimum Property Damage Liability Coverage

  • $25,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Optional Insurance Coverage

  • Uninsured (UM) and Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage. In Alaska, this coverage is combined. Alaska requires $50,000 for bodily injury coverage for one person injured in one accident and $100,000 in coverage for all persons injured in one accident. If you purchase bodily injury insurance coverage in an amount greater than that legally required, you must purchase the same amount of UM/UIM coverage.

Special Rules for Motorcycle Owners

  • In Alaska, insurance companies are not required to offer greater limits of bodily injury and UM/UIM to motorcycle owners or operators.
Back to Top

Arizona Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury Liability Coverage

  • $15,000 per person injured in any one accident and $30,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

Required Minimum Property Damage Liability Coverage

  • $10,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Optional Insurance Coverage

  • Uninsured Motorist (UM) Coverage. In Arizona, UM coverage can be purchased in any amount up to the limits of the bodily injury liability purchased, but not less than the amount of bodily injury coverage required.
  • Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage. UIM can be purchased in any amount up to the limits of the bodily injury coverage purchased. It can also be purchased in less than the amount of bodily injury coverage purchased.
Back to Top

Arkansas Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury Coverage

  • $25,000 per person injured in any one accident and $50,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

Required Minimum Property Damage Coverage

  • $25,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Required Medical Expense or First-Party Benefits

  • Automobile owners are required to purchase minimum amounts of first-party coverages that pay benefits without regard to fault. These coverages include payment of medical and hospital benefits and funeral expenses incurred within 24 months after an accident of up to $5,000 per person; 70 percent of loss of income from work during a period starting eight days after the accident, and not to exceed 52 weeks, and subject to a maximum of $140 per week; and accidental death benefits of $5,000.

Optional Insurance Coverage

  • Automobile Liability Insurance Policies vs. Motor Vehicle Liability Insurance Policies
    Arkansas distinguishes “automobile” policies from “motor vehicle” policies. Under Arkansas law, the definition of an “automobile” includes a car, and the definition of a “motor vehicle” includes a motorcycle. The law addresses optional coverages which must be offered to purchasers of automobile liability policies. The law does not address any legal requirements as to what optional coverages insurance companies must offer to motorcyclists. This does not mean, however, that a motorcycle owner cannot purchase optional insurance. It only means that optional insurance coverage for motorcyclists is a matter of contract law. In other words, the insurance company is free to offer or not offer optional coverage to motorcyclists.
  • Uninsured (UM) and Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage Arkansas law requires insurance companies to offer UM and UIM coverage to purchasers of automobile liability insurance. UM and UIM coverages are coordinated, and a purchaser cannot buy UIM unless UM is elected. If purchased, UM and UIM must be coordinated in at least the minimum amounts required for bodily injury liability policies

Special Rules for Motorcycle Owners

  • Insurance companies are not required to offer UM/UIM coverage to motorcycle owners. They are also not required to offer medical expense or first-party medical benefits to motorcycle owners.
Back to Top

California Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Financial responsibility is required. A driver involved in an accident who fails to prove existence of financial responsibility at time of accident shall have driver's license suspended for 1 year.

Required Minimum Bodily Injury Coverage

  • $15,000 per person injured in any one accident and $30,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

Required Minimum Property Damage Coverage

  • $5,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Optional Insurance Coverage

  • Uninsured Motorist (UM) Coverage. If a person chooses UM, the coverage must be purchased in at least the amount of required bodily injury coverage. If more than the required amount of bodily injury coverage is purchased, UIM can be purchased in a lesser amount. In California, insurance companies are not required to provide UM coverage in amounts greater than $30,000 per person injured in any one accident and $60,000 for all persons injured in any one accident.
  • Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage. If UM is purchased, UIM must also be included in the policy. Additionally, insurance companies are required to offer UIM in an amount equal to the amount of UM purchased. They are, however, permitted to offer greater amounts of UIM than the UM actually purchased.
Back to Top

Colorado Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury Coverage

  • $25,000 per person injured in any one accident and $50,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

Required Minimum Property Damage Coverage

  • $15,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Optional Insurance Coverage

  • Uninsured Motorist (UM) Coverage. In Colorado, UM includes underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage. If elected, UM coverage must be purchased in the minimum amount of bodily injury coverage required. If an insured purchases a greater amount of bodily injury coverage than that required, the insurance company is only required to provide the limits of bodily injury coverage purchased or $100,000 per person and $300,000 per accident, whichever is less.
Back to Top

Connecticut Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury Coverage

  • $20,000 per person injured in any one accident and $40,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

Required Minimum Property Damage Coverage

  • $10,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Optional Insurance Coverage

  • Uninsured Motorist (UM) and Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage. Connecticut requires insurance companies to offer UM/UIM coverage to purchasers of automobile liability policies. The law requires insurance companies to offer UM and UIM coverage with limits that are twice the limits of bodily injury liability coverage actually purchased. If purchased, the coverage must be at least be equal to that required for bodily injury coverage.

Special Rules for Motorcycle Owners

  • Connecticut does not require insurance companies to offer UM/UIM coverage to motorcycle owners.
  • An insurer who issues liability insurance policies for motorcycles must offer a premium discount (of at least 10% on premium charges) on to any principal operator of a motorcycle who provides proof of successful completion of the novice or advanced motorcycle training course offered by the Department of Transportation or another course approved by the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles. The discount is applicable for any policies issued for delivery or renewed on or after October 1, 1987, and is applicable for a period of five years from the original effective date of the discount. The course must be completed within one year prior to the initial application of the discount or, for subsequent applications of the discount, within one year prior to the expiration of the current discount period. The discount is not applicable to physical damage insurance coverage for motorcycles.

Need more information on state laws? Learn more about the laws where you live.

Back to Top

Delaware Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury Coverage

  • $15,000 per person injured in any one accident and $30,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

Required Minimum Property Damage Coverage

  • $10,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Required Coverage to Compensate Injured Persons

  • Delaware requires all motor vehicle owners to purchase coverage to compensate “injured persons” for medical expenses. For this coverage, an “injured person” means the insured, someone riding in the insured’s car, and pedestrians. The minimum amount required is $15,000 per person injured in any one accident and $30,000 for all persons injured in any one accident. Delaware also requires motor vehicle owners to purchase coverage for funeral expenses. Funeral benefits cannot exceed $5,000 per person. The law further requires coverage for lost earnings, but no amount is specified.

Optional Insurance Coverage

  • Uninsured Motorist (UM) and Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage. The amount purchased cannot be less than the minimum limits for bodily injury and property damage liability insurance. An insurance company is required to offer a split limit of $100,000 per person and $300,000 per accident, or a single limit of $300,000. However, the amount of UM/UIM cannot exceed the amount of bodily injury coverage purchased.

Special Rules for Motorcycle Owners

  • A motorcycle owner can choose to reject coverage for medical expenses and lost earnings for injuries suffered by any person riding the motorcycle while not on a highway and in a case where no other vehicle but the motorcycle is involved in a collision. The rejection must be in writing.
  • Insurance discounts are available for 3 years following the completion of a rider education program.
Back to Top

Florida Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury Coverage

  • $10,000 per person injured in any one accident and $30,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

Required Minimum Property Damage Coverage

  • $10,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Required No-Fault Coverage.

  • Florida has a No-Fault Law that provides a minimum amount of insurance benefits that are paid without regard to fault. Florida’s No-Fault statute requires motor and commercial vehicle owners to purchase an insurance policy that provides for certain security, including required Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage benefits to a limit of $10,000 per person for medical and disability expenses, as well as $5,000 per person in death benefits. If economic damages are less than PIP coverage paid out, a person has no tort claim. However, a person can sue if economic damages exceed that paid out by PIP, as well as when the victim suffers permanent injury, permanent loss of an important bodily function, significant and permanent scarring or disfigurement, or death. Whether a person suffers permanent injury or significant and permanent scarring or disfigurement is a question of law to be decided by a judge.

Optional Insurance Coverage

  • Uninsured (UM) Motorist Coverage. UM includes underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage. If elected, UM must be equal to the bodily injury liability coverage purchased, unless specifically rejected.
Back to Top

Georgia Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury Coverage

  • $25,000 per person injured in any one accident and $50,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

Required Minimum Property Damage Coverage

  • $25,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Optional Insurance Coverage

  • Uninsured Motorist (UM) Coverage. In Georgia, UM coverage includes underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage. If purchased, coverage must be not less than the minimum bodily injury coverage required. If bodily injury insurance coverage is purchased in an amount greater than that required by law, the insured is permitted to purchase UM limits in an amount equal to or less than the bodily injury coverage purchased.
Back to Top

Hawaii Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury Coverage

  • $20,000 per person injured in any one accident and $40,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

Required Minimum Property Damage Coverage

  • $10,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Optional Insurance Coverage

  • Uninsured (UM) and Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage. If purchased, the coverage must be at least the minimum required for bodily injury liability coverage. If the offer to purchase UM/UIM is rejected, the insurance company has no obligation to explain to the insured that he or she has an option to stack policies and to select UM/UIM in amount up to but not greater than the bodily injury liability coverage purchased.

Special Rules for Motorcycle Owners

  • Insurance companies are required to offer motorcycle owners a medical expense coverage plan to cover medical expenses up to $10,000. They are also required to offer an income disability plan and bodily injury liability coverage in excess of the minimum required. The state requires a $20,000 per person/$40,000 per accident bodily injury liability and a $10,000 per occurrence property damage liability. Insurance companies are not required to offer motorcyclists UM/UIM coverage.
  • Insurance discounts of 15% are available for graduates of rider education programs.
Back to Top

Idaho Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury Coverage

  • $25,000 per person injured in any one accident and $50,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

Required Minimum Property Damage Coverage

  • $15,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Optional Insurance Coverage

  • Uninsured Motorist (UM) Coverage. If purchased, UM coverage must be at least in the amount of required bodily injury coverage.
  • Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage. Idaho includes UIM coverage and is treated with the same minimum requirements as UM coverage.
Back to Top

Illinois Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury Coverage

  • $25,000 per person injured in any one accident and $50,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

Required Minimum Property Damage Coverage

  • $20,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Optional Insurance Coverage

  • Uninsured Motorist (UM) Coverage. The amount of UM purchased must be equal to the insured’s bodily injury liability limits, unless specifically rejected in writing. In no case can the amount of UM be less than that legally required for bodily injury liability coverage.
Back to Top

Illinois Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury Coverage

  • $25,000 per person injured in any one accident and $50,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

Required Minimum Property Damage Coverage

  • $20,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Optional Insurance Coverage

  • Uninsured Motorist (UM) Coverage. The amount of UM purchased must be equal to the insured’s bodily injury liability limits, unless specifically rejected in writing. In no case can the amount of UM be less than that legally required for bodily injury liability coverage.
Back to Top

Iowa Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury Coverage

  • $20,000 per person injured in any one accident and $40,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

Required Minimum Property Damage Coverage

  • $15,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Optional Insurance Coverage

  • Uninsured (UM) and Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage. Iowa vehicle owners can purchase either UM, UIM, or both. The minimum amount purchased must meet the bodily injury liability requirements.
Back to Top

Kansas Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury Coverage

  • $25,000 per person injured in any one accident and $50,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

Required Minimum Property Damage Coverage

  • $10,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Required Personal Injury Protection Coverage May Only be Rejected by Motorcyclists

  • Kansas requires all motor vehicle liability policies to include PIP benefits to pay rehabilitation, disability, and funeral expenses of the insured and the insured’s passengers. Medical and rehabilitation benefits cannot be less than $4,500 per person; disability must be purchased at a maximum of $900 per month per person not to exceed one year; and a funeral benefit cannot be more than $2,000 per person. Kansas law permits only motorcycle owners/operators to reject this coverage in writing.

Optional Insurance Coverage

  • Uninsured (UM) and Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage. Insurance companies must offer UM/UIM in a minimal amount of the bodily injury coverage purchased. UM coverage purchased must include a UIM provision that equals the limits of UM coverage if UIM coverage bodily injury limits.

Special Rules for Motorcycle Owners

  • Motorcycle owners can reject required PIP coverage, so long as the rejection is in writing.
Back to Top

Kentucky Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury/Property Damage Coverage

  • In Kentucky, you can choose between a "split limit" or a "single limit" policy.
  • The split limit is $25,000 per person injured in any one accident and $50,000 for all persons injured in any one accident. This also requires a minimum property damage coverage amount of $10,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident.
  • The single limits is $60,000 per accident for all damages.

Optional Insurance Coverage

  • Basic Reparation Benefits
    These benefits reimburse the insured for the net loss suffered through injury arising out of the operation, maintenance, or use of a motor vehicle. The maximum amount for all economic loss is $10,000, regardless of the number of covered persons injured. “Economic loss” means medical expenses, lost wages, and funeral expenses. If an insured purchases basic reparation benefits, he or she cannot sue a negligent driver unless medical expenses exceed $1,000 or if the injury results in a permanent disfigurement, permanent injury, permanent loss of bodily function, or death.
  • Optional Added Reparation Benefits
    An insured can contract with an insurance company to purchase optional added reparation benefits.
  • Uninsured (UM) and Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage
    UM coverage must be at least equal to bodily injury coverage. Kentucky does not set a minimum amount for UIM coverage.
  • Special Rules for Motorcyclists
    Insurance companies must offer basic reparations benefits to motorcyclists. Insurance companies are under no obligation to offer UM coverage to motorcyclists, and they are permitted to exclude motorcycle owners from this coverage.
Back to Top

Louisiana Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury Coverage

  • $15,000 per person injured in any one accident and $30,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

Required Minimum Property Damage Coverage

  • $25,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Optional Insurance Coverage

  • Uninsured Motorist (UM) Coverage. UM includes underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage. UM must equal the amount of the bodily injury liability coverage purchased, unless specifically rejected. UM cannot be less than the minimum bodily injury liability insurance required, unless the insured selects “economic only UM coverage.”
  • Economic Only UM Coverage. In exchange for a reduced premium, insurance companies may offer economic only UM coverage. This coverage excludes payment for all non-economic loss, including pain, suffering, inconvenience, and mental anguish damages.
Back to Top

Maine Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury/Property Damage Coverage

  • $50,000 per person injured in any one accident and $100,000 for all persons injured in any one accident
  • $25,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Required Minimum Bodily Injury Coverage for Insured/Operator and Passengers

  • Maine also requires an insured’s bodily injury policy to provide coverage equal to or greater than $1,000 per person for injuries sustained by the insured/operator and passengers in the insured’s car.

Optional Insurance Coverage

  • Uninsured Motorist (UM) Coverage. In Maine, UM includes underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage. If purchased, the coverage cannot be less than that purchased in the bodily injury liability policy, unless the insured specifically rejects that amount. In that case, however, the insured must purchase UM at least in an amount equal to the minimum bodily injury liability coverage required.

Special Rules for Motorcycle Owners

  • Under Maine law, insurance companies are not permitted to sell motorcycle liability insurance policies that exclude coverage for motorcycle passengers, unless the insurance company notifies the Bureau of Motor Vehicles, each of its licensed agents, and the exclusion is provided by a separate endorsement in the insured’s policy.
Back to Top

Maryland Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury Coverage

  • $30,000 per person injured in any one accident and $60,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

Required Minimum Property Damage Coverage

  • $15,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Optional Insurance Coverage

  • Personal Injury Protection (PIP). Maryland law requires insurance companies to offer PIP coverage of not less than $2,500 per person for medical, hospital, and disability benefits, as well as loss of income benefits of up to 85 percent for three years. Rejection of PIP benefits must in writing.
  • Uninsured Motorist (UM) Coverage. In Maryland, UM coverage includes underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage. If purchased, UM coverage must be equal to the amount of bodily injury coverage purchased, unless waived. In that event, the insured must purchase UM in an amount at least equal to the minimum bodily injury coverage required.

Special Rules for Motorcycle Owners

  • Insurance companies are not required to offer lost income benefits under a personal injury protection plan to motorcycle owners. If offered, however, the insurance company can require a deductible, options, or specific exclusions.
Back to Top

Massachusetts Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury Coverage

  • $20,000 per person injured in any one accident and $40,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

Required Minimum Property Damage Coverage

  • $5,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

  • PIP covers up to $8,000 in medical and work loss expenses, without regard to fault. The type of medical insurance you have will determine the amount of medical expense benefits paid out by PIP. PIP is a no-fault statute. Therefore, an injured person can only sue for pain and suffering if that person’s medical expenses are in excess of $2,000, or if the injuries caused death, the loss of a body member, permanent/serious disfigurement, loss of sight or hearing, or a fracture.

Optional Insurance Coverage

  • Uninsured Motorist (UM) Coverage -- In Massachusetts, UM coverage includes underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage. If purchased, it must be at least the amount of bodily injury liability coverage required.

Special Rules for Motorcyclists

  • Motorcycle operators and passengers are excluded from PIP coverage.
  • Policies insuring motorcycles, trailers, and other recreational type vehicles, insurers shall, can be effective for a period of less than one year to match with the expiration date for the registration. Insurers must use the appropriate short rate table to determine the premium.
Back to Top

Michigan Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury Coverage

  • $20,000 per person injured in any one accident and $40,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

Required Minimum Property Damage Coverage

  • $10,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Optional Insurance Coverage

  • Personal Protection Insurance Benefits. These benefits cover the insured and the insured’s passengers for medical expenses and work loss. Insurance companies are required to offer medical benefits between $1,750 and $5,000 per person and work loss benefits of 85 percent of wages for 3 years, but not to exceed $1,000 per month.

Restrictions on Tort Liability

  • No-Fault statute. Michigan has a No-Fault statute. Under the statute, an injured person cannot sue for pain and suffering unless the injury causes death, serious impairment of bodily function, or permanent, serious disfigurement. Whether an injury rises to the level of a “serious impairment of bodily function” or a “permanent, serious disfigurement” is left for a judge to decide.
  • Uninsured (UM) and Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage. Michigan does not have a statute regarding UM/UIM coverages.

Special Rules for Motorcyclists

  • Insurance companies are required to offer motorcycle owners first-party benefits in $5,000 increments.
Back to Top

Minnesota Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury Coverage

  • $30,000 per person injured in any one accident and $60,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

Required Minimum Property Damage Coverage

  • $10,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Basic Economic Loss Benefits.

  • A minimum of $40,000 for injury to any one person, consisting of $20,000 for medical expenses and $20,000 for income loss, replacement services, funeral expense, survivor's economic loss, and survivor's replacement services is required. An injured person cannot sue a negligent driver, unless damages exceed the coverage amount or the injury results in a permanent disfigurement, permanent injury, death, or disability that lasts 60 days or longer.

Optional Insurance Coverage

  • Uninsured (UM) and Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage. Each coverage must provide at least $25,000 per person injured in any one accident and $50,000 for all persons injured in any one accident. UIM benefits required by the statute do not apply to bodily injury suffered by an insured person driving a motorcycle owned by the insured person.

Special Rules for Motorcycle Owners

  • Motorcycle owners must carry liability insurance. There is no requirement that the policy provide for basic economic loss benefits. For purposes of the economic benefits, injuries suffered while riding, mounting, or operating a motorcycle do NOT arise out of the "maintenance or use of a motor vehicle," even if a motor vehicle was involved in the injury.
Back to Top

Mississippi Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury Coverage

  • $25,000 per person injured in any one accident and $50,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

Required Minimum Property Damage Coverage

  • $25,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Optional Insurance Coverage

  • UM coverage includes underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage. Mississippi law requires that UM coverage be no less than the bodily injury liability coverage required. The insured may increase UM coverage, but it cannot exceed the bodily injury liability coverage actually purchased.
Back to Top

Missouri Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury Coverage

  • $25,000 per person injured in any one accident and $50,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

Required Minimum Property Damage Coverage

  • $10,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Optional Insurance Coverage

  • Uninsured Motorist (UM) Coverage. This coverage includes underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage. If purchased, it must be at least the amount of the bodily injury coverage required. The offer of UM coverage only applies to automobile liability insurance policies.

Special Rules for Motorcycle Owners.

  • Insurance companies are not required to offer UM coverage to motorcycle owners.
Back to Top

Montana Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury Coverage

  • $25,000 per person injured in any one accident and $50,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

Required Minimum Property Damage Coverage

  • $20,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Optional Insurance Coverage

  • Uninsured Motorist (UM) Coverage. If elected, UM must be at least the amount of the bodily injury coverage required. Montana does not have a statute that addresses underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage.

Special Rules for Motorcycle Owners.

  • In Montana, if a motorcyclist carries coverage (though not required by law), the mandatory minimum limits for the policy are the same as that for automobiles.
Back to Top

Nebraska Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury Coverage

  • $25,000 per person injured in any one accident and $50,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

Required Minimum Property Damage Coverage

  • $25,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Required Uninsured (UM) and Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage

  • In Nebraska, UM/UIM is required, and must be at least $25,000 per person injured in any one accident and $50,000 for all persons injured in any one accident. Insurance companies are not required to offer limits higher than $100,000 per person injured in any one accident and $300,000 for all persons injured in any one accident.
Back to Top

Nevada Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury Coverage

  • $15,000 per person injured in any one accident and $30,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

Required Minimum Property Damage Coverage

  • $10,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Optional Insurance Coverage

  • Uninsured Motorist (UM) and Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage. Insurance companies must offer UM and UIM coverages in an amount equal to the bodily injury liability coverage purchased.
Back to Top

New Hampshire Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury Coverage

  • $25,000 per person injured in any one accident and $50,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

Required Minimum Property Damage Coverage

  • $25,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Optional Insurance Coverage

  • Uninsured Motorist (UM) Coverage. In New Hampshire, UM includes underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage. If purchased, UM coverage must be at least that legally required for bodily injury liability coverage. If a person purchases more bodily injury liability coverage than that required, UM must equal that amount.
Back to Top

New Jersey Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury and Property Damage Coverages for Motor Vehicle Insurance Policies and Standard Automobile Insurance Policies

In New Jersey, a Motor Vehicle Insurance Policy includes a motorcycle insurance policy. A Standard Automobile Insurance Policy is different from a Basic Automobile Insurance Policy.

For motor vehicle and standard auto policies, the following minimum Bodily Injury coverage is required:

  • $15,000 per person injured in any one accident and $30,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

In addition, the following minimum Property Damage coverage is required:

  • $5,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Optional Basic Automobile Insurance Coverage

  • This coverage is a “No-Fault” policy, and it pays medical expenses of the insured, regardless of fault. However, it prevents an injured person from filing suit against a negligent driver. If elected, the bodily injury coverage requirements stated above do not apply. Instead, the insured gets a Personal Injury Protection (PIP) policy, which pays the insured, those riding with him or her, and pedestrians for injuries, regardless of fault. PIP covers medical expenses of $15,000 per person, but cannot exceed $250,000 per person for medical treatment for permanent/significant brain injury, spinal cord injury, disfigurement, or treatment of any other permanent or significant injuries. It limits property damage coverage to $5,000. The insured can then choose whether he or she wants to purchase an optional bodily injury coverage policy of $10,000 per person. This coverage is not available to motorcycle owners.

Compulsory Uninsured Motorist (UM) Coverage.

  • All motor vehicle policies, except basic automobile insurance policies, must provide at least $5,000 of UM coverage.

Optional Uninsured (UM) and Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage Available to those Purchasing Standard Automobile Insurance Policies.

  • UM/UIM is only offered to those purchasing standard automobile insurance policies. If purchased, the coverage must be at least $250,000 per person injured in any one accident, $500,000 for all persons injured in any one accident, and $100,000 for property damage.

Optional Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Coverage Available to those Purchasing Standard Automobile Insurance Policies.

  • PIP coverage is offered to those purchasing standard automobile insurance policies. PIP coverage can be purchased in the maximum amount of $250,000 per person to pay for medical expenses, without regard to fault. Under this coverage, income continuation benefits can also be purchased, with a weekly maximum payout of $100, up to $5,200. Essential service benefits can be purchased, with a maximum payout of $12 per day, up to $4,380. Funeral benefits can also be purchased up to a maximum of $1,000.

Tort Limitation Option Available to those Purchasing Standard Automobile Insurance Policies.

  • In exchange for a reduced premium, purchasers of standard automobile insurance policies can limit their right to sue a negligent driver by electing the tort limitation option. If chosen, the insured can only sue if he sustains a bodily injury that results in death, dismemberment, significant disfigurement, significant scarring, displaced fractures, loss of a fetus, or a permanent injury.

Special Rules for Motorcycle Owners.

  • Optional UM and UIM, PIP, and tort limitation are not available to motorcycle owners.
Back to Top

New Mexico Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury Coverage

  • $25,000 per person injured in any one accident and $50,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

Required Minimum Property Damage Coverage

  • $10,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Optional Insurance Coverage

  • Uninsured Motorist (UM) Coverage. UM includes underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage. If purchased, UM coverage must be at least equal to that required for bodily injury liability coverage. If more bodily injury liability coverage than required is purchased, UM coverage can be increased, but it can never exceed the bodily injury liability coverage actually purchased.
Back to Top

New York Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury/Death Coverage

  • $25,000 per person injured in any one accident and $50,000 because of the death of one person in one accident and $50,000 for two or more persons injured in any one accident and $100,000 for the deaths of two or more persons in one accident.

Required Minimum Property Damage Coverage

  • $10,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Required Economic Loss/No-Fault Insurance Coverage.

  • This coverage pays for basic economic loss benefits, without regard to fault, up to a maximum of $50,000 per person. The benefits cover medical, rehabilitation, psychiatric, and religious healing expenses, as well as work loss of up to $2,000 per month for no more than three years. This No-Fault statute impairs an injured person’s ability to a sue a negligent driver. In order to sue, the injured person must suffer a “serious injury.” Under the statute, a “serious injury” means death; dismemberment; significant disfigurement; a fracture; loss of a fetus; permanent loss of the use of a bodily organ or member; significant limitation of use of a bodily function or system; or a medically determined injury or impairment of a non-permanent nature that prevents the person from performing daily activities for not less than 90 days during the 180 days immediately following the injury.

Uninsured Motorist (UM) Coverage.

  • UM coverage of $25,000 per person injured in any one accident and $50,000 for two or more persons injured in any one accident is required.

Optional Insurance Coverage

  • Supplementary UM and Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage. A supplemental UM/UIM policy can be purchased up to the bodily injury liability insurance limits on the policy, with a maximum coverage of $250,000 per person injured in any one accident and $500,000 for two or more persons injured in any one accident. A single limit policy of $500,000 can also be purchased.
  • Additional Basic Economic Loss Coverage. Insureds have the option to purchase an additional $25,000 of coverage to be used to pay work loss and rehabilitation expenses after the $50,000 required economic loss coverage is exhausted.

Special Rules for Motorcyclists

  • The No-Fault statute does not apply to motorcyclists. Therefore, motorcyclists need not comply with the “serious injury” threshold in order to sue a negligent driver for injuries.
Back to Top

North Carolina Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury Coverage

  • $30,000 per person injured in any one accident and $60,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

Required Minimum Property Damage Coverage

  • $25,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Optional Insurance Coverage

  • Uninsured Motorist (UM) Coverage. If purchased, this coverage cannot be less than the amount of bodily injury coverage purchased, nor can it exceed $1 million.
  • Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage. This coverage is only offered to those who purchase more than the required minimum amount of bodily injury liability coverage and who buy UM coverage. UIM coverage cannot be less than the required bodily injury liability coverage, nor can it exceed $1 million.
Back to Top

North Dakota Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury Coverage

  • $25,000 per person injured in any one accident and $50,000 for all persons injured in any one accident]

Required Minimum Property Damage Coverage

  • $25,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Basic No-Fault/Excess No-Fault Coverage.

  • This coverage pays economic loss in the maximum amount of $30,000 per person injured in any one accident, regardless of fault. Economic loss includes medical, rehabilitation, work loss, replacement services loss, survivor’s income, survivor’s replacement loss, funeral, cremation, and burial expenses. Under this No-Fault statute, an insured claimant can recover non-economic, or pain and suffering, damages in a tort action, only if the claimant has suffered a “serious injury.” A “serious injury” is an accidental bodily injury which results in death, dismemberment, serious and permanent disfigurement or disability beyond 60 days, or medical expenses in excess of $2,500.

Optional Insurance Coverage

  • Uninsured (UM) and Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage. If purchased, UM coverage must be at least that required for bodily injury policies. In North Dakota, an insurance company has no obligation to provide more UM coverage than the bodily injury liability coverage purchased. If a person purchases UIM, it must be equal to the UM purchased.
  • Excess No-Fault Coverage. Excess No-Fault coverage can be purchased up to a maximum of $80,000 for any one person injured in any one accident.

Special Rules for Motorcycle Owners

  • Basic No-Fault/Excess No-Fault Coverages do not apply to motorcycle owners.
Back to Top

Ohio Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury Coverage

  • $25,000 per person injured in any one accident and $50,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

Required Minimum Property Damage Coverage

  • $25,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Optional Insurance Coverage

  • Uninsured (UM) and Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage. Policies may include UM and UIM. Ohio does not require a mandatory offer by insurance companies. Ohio also has no laws regarding the amounts of coverage to be purchased.
Back to Top

Oklahoma Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury Coverage

  • $25,000 per person injured in any one accident and $50,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

Required Minimum Property Damage Coverage

  • $25,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Optional Insurance Coverage

  • Uninsured (UM) and Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage. In Oklahoma, UM coverage includes underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage. The insured can purchase UM in an amount equal to the bodily injury liability insurance coverage purchased or a lesser amount. The amount purchased, however, cannot be less than the required bodily injury liability coverage.

Special Rules for Motorcycle Owners

  • Insurance discounts are available for 3 years following the completion of a motorcycle accident prevention course. This excludes graduates attending due to a court order.
Back to Top

Oregon Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury Coverage

  • $25,000 per person injured in any one accident and $50,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

Required Minimum Property Damage Coverage

  • $20,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Required Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Coverage

  • PIP covers medical, rehabilitation, and work loss expenses of the insured and those injured while riding in the insured’s vehicle, up to a limit of $15,000 per person, without regard to fault.

Optional Insurance Coverage

  • Uninsured (UM) and Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage. The amount of UM coverage purchased must be the same as the bodily injury liability coverage purchased, unless a lower election is made in writing. If a person purchases more UM coverage than the minimum required for bodily injury liability coverage, that person must also purchase UIM coverage that is equal to the amount of UM coverage purchased.

Special Rules for Motorcycle Owners

  • PIP does not apply to motorcycle owners.
  • The principal operator of a covered motorcycle can receive an appropriate reduction in premium charges if they successfully complete an approved motorcycle rider education course. The course must be completed no more than three years prior to the beginning of the policy period for which the discounted rate applies. The discounted rate only applies to one motorcycle owned by the principal operator.
Back to Top

Pennsylvania Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Tort Option Coverage

  • Full vs. Limited. Determines your ability to sue for pain and suffering if you are involved in a car accident.

Required Minimum Bodily Injury Liability Coverage

  • $15,000 per person and $30,000 per occurrence

Required Minimum Property Damage Liability Coverage

  • 5,000 per accident.

Required Medical Expense Benefits Coverage

  • $5,000 of coverage for medical expenses.
  • Medical expense benefits coverage can be purchased for your motorcycle. The medical expenses covered will be listed in your insurance policy so be sure to review this information carefully.

Optional Coverages:

  • Income Loss Benefits
  • Underinsured Motorist Coverage
  • Uninsured Motorist Coverage
  • Stacking of limits for Underinsured motorist coverage and Uninsured motorist coverage
  • Funeral Benefits

Special note for motorcycle owners:

  • If you reject or reduce underinsured or uninsured coverage on your motorcycle policy, you are disqualified from collecting such coverage from your automobile policy even though you have paid premiums for the coverage. Pennsylvania law does not require motorcycle insurers to provide first party coverage. Also, motorcycle owners are not bound by a limited tort selection on an auto policy.
Back to Top

Rhode Island Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury Coverage

  • In Rhode Island, you can choose between a "split limit" or a "single limit" policy.
  • The split limit is $25,000 per person injured in any one accident and $50,000 for all persons injured in any one accident. This also requires a minimum property damage coverage amount of $25,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident.
  • The single limit is $75,000 per accident for all damages.

Optional Insurance Coverage

  • Uninsured Motorist (UM) Coverage. In Rhode Island, UM coverage includes underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage. The amount purchased cannot be less than the required bodily injury minimum. If bodily injury coverage is purchased in an amount greater than that required by law, UM coverage must equal that amount, unless the insured selects a lesser limit in writing. The lesser limit can be less than the bodily injury coverage purchased, but it cannot be less than the bodily injury coverage required.
  • Medical Payment Coverage. This optional coverage pays medical expenses for injuries arising out of the ownership, maintenance, or use of a motor vehicle, without regard to fault. If elected, it must be purchased in the minimum amounts of $2,500 per person injured in any one accident and $5,000 for all persons injured in any one accident.
Back to Top

South Carolina Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury Coverage

  • $25,000 per person injured in any one accident and $50,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

Required Minimum Property Damage Coverage

  • $25,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Required Uninsured (UM) and Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage

  • South Carolina requires vehicle owners to purchase UM coverage of at least the amount required for bodily injury liability coverage. South Carolina also requires the UM coverage to include $25,000 for property damage.

Optional Coverage

  • Additional Uninsured Motorist (UM) and Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage. In addition to the mandatory UM coverage, insurance companies must offer optional UM coverage up to the limits of the insured’s bodily injury liability coverage. They must also offer UIM coverage up to the limits of the insured’s bodily injury liability coverage.
Back to Top

South Dakota Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury Coverage

  • $25,000 per person injured in any one accident and $50,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

Required Minimum Property Damage Coverage

  • $25,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Required Uninsured Motorist (UM) Coverage

  • In South Dakota, UM includes underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage. UM must be purchased in an amount equal to the bodily injury coverage purchased, but not to exceed $100,000 per person injured in any one accident and $300,000 for all persons injured in any one accident.
Back to Top

Tennessee Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury/Property Damage Coverage

  • In Tennessee, you can choose between a "split limit" or a "single limit" policy.
  • A split-limit policy with a limit of not less than twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000) for bodily injury to or death of one (1) person, not less than fifty thousand dollars ($50,000) for bodily injury to or death of two (2) or more persons in any one (1) accident, and not less than fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000) for damage to property in any one (1) accident.
  • The single limit is $60,000 per accident for all damages.

Optional Insurance Coverage

  • Uninsured Motorist (UM) Coverage. In Tennessee, UM coverage includes underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage. UM must be at least the minimum amount of bodily injury coverage required. If an insured purchases more than the minimum amount of required bodily injury coverage, he or she can purchase lesser amounts of UM.

Special Laws for Motorcycles

  • The commissioner of commerce and insurance fixes and establishes premium charges for insurers to provide a ten percent (10%) reduction in premium rates for motorcycle liability insurance to qualified licensed motorcycle operators who provide proof of successful completion of a state-approved rider training course. The premium reduction remains in effect for the qualifying insured persons for a period of three (3) years from the date of successful completion of the approved course. However, the insurer may elect to apply the premium reduction beginning at the next renewal date of the policy and continuing for a period of three (3) years.
Back to Top

Texas Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury Coverage

  • $30,000 per person injured in any one accident and $60,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

Required Minimum Property Damage Coverage

  • $25,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident
  • Beginning April 1, 2008: $25,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Optional Insurance Coverage

  • Uninsured Motorist (UM) Coverage. In Texas, UM includes underinsured motorist (UIM), and must be offered to all automobile owners. It must be purchased in at least the minimum amount of bodily injury coverage required, and it can never be purchased in a greater amount than the bodily injury coverage that is purchased.
  • Personal Injury Protection. This coverage is optional for automobile owners. It cannot exceed $2,500 per person for all medical expenses, funeral services, and lost income. Rejection must be in writing. PIP is paid out without regard to fault.

Special Rules for Motorcycle Owners

  • An insurance company is not required to offer UM to motorcycle owners.
  • PIP does not apply to motorcycle owners.
Back to Top

Utah Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury/Property Damage Coverage

  • In Utah, you can choose between a "split limit" or a "single limit" policy.
  • The split limit is $25,000 per person injured in any one accident and $65,000 for all persons injured in any one accident. This also requires a minimum property damage coverage amount of $15,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident.
  • The single limit is $80,000 per accident for all damages.

Required Personal Injury Protection.

  • Automobile owners are required to purchase Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage. PIP pays without regard to fault and covers medical expenses up to $3,000, funeral expenses up to $1,500, compensation for death in the amount of $3,000, $250 per week or 85 percent of lost wages for one year, and $20 a day for one year for expenses related to household services, such as cleaning. Under this No-Fault statute, the injured person can only sue a negligent driver if his or her medical expenses exceed $3,000, or if the injury results in death, dismemberment, a permanent disability, a permanent impairment, or a permanent disfigurement. It is for a judge to determine whether a person’s injury rises to the level of being legally entitled to sue for damages.

Optional Insurance Coverage

  • Uninsured Motorist (UM) Coverage. The limits of UM must be equal to the lesser of the insured’s motor vehicle liability policy limits or the maximum UM coverage limits available by the insurance company under the insured’s motor vehicle policy, unless the higher coverage is waived in writing. In no event can UM coverage be less than the amount of required bodily injury liability coverage.
  • Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage. The limits of UIM must be equal to the lesser of the insured’s motor vehicle liability policy limits or the maximum UIM coverage limits available by the insurance company under the insured’s motor vehicle policy, unless the higher coverage is waived in writing. UIM may not be sold with limits less than $10,000 for one person injured in any one accident and $20,000 for two or more persons injured in any one accident.

Special Rules for Motorcycle Owners

  • Motorcycles are not required to have personal injury protection. Insurers may or may not offer motorcycle owners a first-party medical coverage plan. Owners and operators of motorcycles, off-highway vehicles, street-legal all-terrain vehicles, trailers, and semi-trailers are not covered by personal injury protection coverages in connection with injuries sustained while operating any of these vehicles.
Back to Top

Vermont Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury Coverage

  • $25,000 per person injured in any one accident and $50,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

Required Minimum Property Damage Coverage

  • $10,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Required Uninsured Motorist Coverage

  • In Vermont, UM includes underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage, and it is required. For new policies, an insured must purchase at least $50,000 per person injured in any one accident and $100,000 for all persons injured in any one accident. Property damage coverage of $10,000 is required. If an insured purchases bodily injury coverage greater than $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident, UM coverage must equal that amount, unless the insured directs otherwise.
Back to Top

Virginia Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury Coverage

  • $25,000 per person injured in any one accident and $50,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

Required Minimum Property Damage Coverage

  • $20,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Optional Insurance Coverage

  • Uninsured Motorist (UM) Coverage. In Virginia, UM includes underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage. If purchased, it must be at least that required for bodily injury coverage. If an insured purchases greater amounts of bodily injury coverage than what is required, UM must equal that amount, unless specifically rejected by the insured. UM must also provide for at least $20,000 in property damage coverage.
  • Medical Expenses and Loss of Income Benefits. Medical and funeral expense benefits can be purchased for up to $2,000 per person. Loss of income benefits can be purchased for up to $100 per week for the maximum of one year. An insured can elect to purchase either or both of these coverages.
Back to Top

Virginia Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury Coverage

  • $25,000 per person injured in any one accident and $50,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

Required Minimum Property Damage Coverage

  • $20,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Optional Insurance Coverage

  • Uninsured Motorist (UM) Coverage. In Virginia, UM includes underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage. If purchased, it must be at least that required for bodily injury coverage. If an insured purchases greater amounts of bodily injury coverage than what is required, UM must equal that amount, unless specifically rejected by the insured. UM must also provide for at least $20,000 in property damage coverage.
  • Medical Expenses and Loss of Income Benefits. Medical and funeral expense benefits can be purchased for up to $2,000 per person. Loss of income benefits can be purchased for up to $100 per week for the maximum of one year. An insured can elect to purchase either or both of these coverages.
Back to Top

Washington, D.C. Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury Liability Coverage

  • $25,000 per person injured in any one accident and $50,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

Required Minimum Property Damage Liability Coverage

  • $10,000 for damage to property in any one accident

Optional Insurance Coverage

  • Uninsured Motorist (UM) Coverage. The minimum amount of UM protection required in D.C. is $25,000 per person injured in any one accident and $50,000 for all persons injured in any one accident, and property damage in the amount of $5,000 for property loss in one accident.
  • Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage. UIM is only available in amounts up to the amount of UM purchased.
  • Personal Injury Protection (PIP). This optional insurance coverage pays medical and rehabilitation expenses, work loss, and funeral benefits to the insured or an occupant of an insured’s vehicle or of a vehicle which the insured is driving, without regard to fault. The maximum amount of benefits paid for medical and rehabilitation expenses cannot be less than $50,000. Medical and rehabilitation benefits can be purchased to cover up to $100,000 per person. The maximum amount paid for work loss cannot be less than $12,000. Work loss benefits can be purchased to cover up to $24,000. Funeral benefits are paid at actual costs up to $4,000. However, when a D.C. resident chooses this type of no-fault insurance, his or her ability to sue a negligent driver for pain and suffering is severely limited. An injured person who elects PIP can only sue an at-fault party if the victim’s injury resulted in substantial permanent scarring or disfigurement, permanent impairment which significantly affects the victim’s ability to perform professional or daily activities, or an impairment that prevents the victim from performing all or most of his or her daily activities for more than 180 continuous days, or in cases where medical and rehabilitation expenses or work loss exceeds the amount of PIP benefits available. Whether a person’s injuries meet those thresholds is a question of law for a judge to decide.

Special Rules for Motorcycle Owners

  • In D.C., an insurance company is not required to offer UIM coverage to motorcycle owners. However, Washington, D.C. requires all registered vehicles to be insured to cover against damage caused (liability insurance at the $25,000/$50,000/$10,000 limits) and against damage incurred by uninsured motorists (must have uninsured and underinsured motorists insurance coverage at the limits of $25,000/$50,000/$5,000).
Back to Top

West Virginia Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury Coverage

  • $20,000 per person injured in any one accident and $40,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

Required Minimum Property Damage Coverage

  • $10,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Optional Insurance Coverage

  • Uninsured (UM) and Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage. If chosen, the amount purchased must be at least that required for bodily injury liability coverage. The maximum amount of UM/UIM that may be purchased is $100,000 per person injured in any one accident, $300,000 for all persons injured in any one accident, and $50,000 for property damage.
Back to Top

Wisconsin Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury Coverage

  • $25,000 per person injured in any one accident and $50,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

Required Minimum Property Damage Coverage

  • $10,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Required Uninsured Motorist (UM) Coverage

  • $25,000 per person injured in any one accident and $50,000 for all persons injured in any one accident. This coverage must also include at least $1,000 for medical expenses.

Optional Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage

  • If UIM is purchased, it must be at least $50,000 per person injured in any one accident and $100,000 for all persons injured in any one accident.
Back to Top

Wyoming Car and Motorcycle Insurance Law

Required Minimum Bodily Injury Coverage

  • $25,000 per person injured in any one accident and $50,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

Required Minimum Property Damage Coverage

  • $20,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Optional Insurance Coverage

  • Uninsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage. If chosen, UM must be purchased in an amount of at least the minimum bodily injury coverage required. UM does not include underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage, and Wyoming has no statute that addresses UIM coverage.
Back to Top

Note: Our attorneys are licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, Maryland, and Virginia. This information is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the states of Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, and Virginia, although if you are injured in an accident, we have relationships with other personal injury attorneys and lawyers throughout the United States.

Review My Case for Free
An attorney will review your case within 24 hours, and we will reach out with next steps.
First Name
Email
Phone
Tell us about your case: