Indiana Statute of Limitations
A cause of action for wrongful death accrues on the date of death and must be filed within two years of that date.
Personal Injury Actions
These actions must be brought within two years of the date of the injury.
Medical Malpractice Actions
Actions against health care providers must be filed within two years of the date that the act giving rise to the injury occurred, regardless of age. Minors under six, however, have until their eighth birthday to file suit. This statute of limitations does not apply in instances involving fraudulent concealment.
Products Liability Actions
Products liability actions must be brought within two years of the accrual of the injury or within 10 years of the delivery of the product, regardless of age.
Asbestos-related disease or injury is a new injury and is a separate cause of action that carries a two-year statute of limitations from development of the injury or disease.
Special Rules for Minors
Except in cases of wrongful death, the statute of limitations on ordinary negligence claims begins to run on the minor’s 18th birthday.
A workers' compensation action must be filed within two years from the date of the accident. Employees must provide their employer with a notice of the injury within 30 days.
Need more information on state laws? Learn more about the laws where you live.
Note: Our attorneys are licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, Maryland, and Virginia. This information is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the states of Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, and Virginia, although if you are injured in an accident, we have relationships with other personal injury attorneys and lawyers throughout the United States.