If the offender’s BAC was less than .15, the following suspension/revocation periods apply:
If the offender’s BAC was .15 or more, the following revocation periods apply:
If a person is convicted of DUI while a passenger 16 or under was in the vehicle, the sentencing judge is required to order the offender to use an ignition interlock device. In cases where installation of an ignition interlock device was not mandatory under Washington law, the judge must order use of the device for at least 60 days following restoration of the offender's driving privileges. In cases where installation of the device was mandatory, the judge must order use of the device for an additional 60 days.
If a person is convicted of DUI, a judge may order use of an ignition interlock device. If a person is convicted of DUI, the Department of Licensing of the State of Washington, however, will require that the offender to drive only a vehicle that is equipped with an ignition interlock device for the following time periods:
In addition to other penalties that may apply under Washington’s DUI laws, a commercial driver who commits a first DUI while driving any vehicle will be disqualified from driving a commercial vehicle for at least one year. If, however, the driver was operating a commercial vehicle and transporting hazardous materials at the time, the disqualification period is three years. A commercial driver who commits a second DUI while driving any vehicle will be disqualified from driving a commercial vehicle for life, which may or may not be reduced to a period of not less than 10 years.
A person under 21 commits underage DUI if he or she drives with a BAC of .02 but less than .08. Underage DUI offenders face up to 90 days in jail, a fine of up to $1,000, or both. Depending on the circumstances of the offense and the minor’s age at the time, the driver’s license suspension period could be until the minor turns 21.
Washington State does not have a Dram Shop Act. It may be possible, however, for an injured person to bring a negligence action against a licensed drinking establishment if the person’s injury resulted from the tavern’s negligent sale and service of alcohol to a minor or to a visibly intoxicated person. While intoxicated minors may bring a claim against the tavern, intoxicated adults may not.
It is a crime to sell or furnish alcohol to a person under 21. Violators face up to 365 days in jail, a fine of up to $5,000, or both. This law, however, does not apply to parents who permit their underage child to drink in their presence, so long as the consumption is not at a licensed drinking establishment.
Need more information on state laws? Learn more about the laws where you live.
Note: Our attorneys are licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, Maryland, and Virginia. This information is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the states of Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, and Virginia, although if you are injured in an accident, we have relationships with other personal injury attorneys and lawyers throughout the United States.