If a person commits a DUI and causes another person to suffer serious bodily injury, the offender faces up to five years in prison and is subject to a fine of up to $5,000.
When a person commits a DUI and is granted probation, the sentencing judge may require the offender to use an ignition interlock device for a specific length of time that the judge finds appropriate.
In addition to other penalties that may apply under Utah’s DUI laws, a commercial driver who commits a first DUI while driving any vehicle will be disqualified from driving a commercial vehicle for at least one year. If, however, the driver was operating a commercial vehicle and transporting hazardous materials at the time, the disqualification period is at least three years. A commercial driver who commits a second DUI while driving any vehicle will be disqualified from driving a commercial vehicle for life, which may or may not be reduced to a period of not less than 10 years.
In addition to other penalties that may apply under Utah’s DUI laws, a driver under 21 who commits a first DUI will have his or her driver’s license suspended for either 2 years or until the person turns 21, whichever period is longer. For a second or subsequent offense within three years, the suspension period is one year. Drivers under 21 who are convicted of DUI must use an ignition interlock system as a condition of probation for a time period specified by the sentencing judge.
A person who furnishes alcohol to a person under 21 or someone apparently intoxicated, or one whom the person knows, or should know, is intoxicated, is liable to an injured third party for any and all injuries.
In Utah, it is a crime to sell or furnish alcohol to a minor. A person who violates this law with knowledge that the minor is underage faces up to one year in prison and a fine of up to $2,500. A person who negligently or recklessly sells or furnishes alcohol to a minor by failing to determine the minor’s age faces up to six months in prison and a fine of up to $1,000.
In Utah, it is a crime to sell or furnish alcohol to an intoxicated person. A person who violates this law with knowledge that the drinker is already intoxicated faces up to one year in prison and a fine of up to $2,500. A person who negligently violates this law faces up to six months in prison and a fine of up to $1,000.
Need more information on state laws? Learn more about the laws where you live.
Note: Our attorneys are licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, Maryland, and Virginia. This information is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the states of Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, and Virginia, although if you are injured in an accident, we have relationships with other personal injury attorneys and lawyers throughout the United States.