A person who drives under the influence of alcohol and causes serious bodily injury to another person or to the unborn child of a pregnant woman faces one to five years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000. The driver’s license revocation period is 60 days to 15 years.
In certain circumstances, DUI offenders may apply for a restricted driver’s license which requires them to drive a vehicle that is equipped with an ignition interlock device. The circumstances of the DUI will determine whether the application will be granted, as well as how long the restriction will remain in force.
In addition to other penalties associated with Nebraska’s DUI laws, a commercial driver who is convicted of DUI while operating any vehicle will be disqualified from driving a commercial vehicle for one year. If, however, the offender was driving a commercial vehicle and transporting hazardous materials at the time, he or she will be disqualified from driving a commercial vehicle for three years. If a commercial driver commits a second DUI while driving any vehicle, the offender will be disqualified from driving a commercial vehicle for life.
A driver under 21 who is convicted of DUI will be found guilty of a traffic infraction. First-time offenders are subject to a fine of up to $100. An underage driver who commits a second offense within one year is subject to a fine of up to $200. Those who commit a third or subsequent offense within a one-year period are subject to a fine of up to $300. Nebraska law, however, permits drivers under 21 to be prosecuted and punished for DUI under the laws applicable to drivers 21 and older.
It is a crime to provide or sell liquor to a person under 21. A violation of this law subjects the offender to up to one year in prison and a fine up to $1,000. A knowing violation of this law is a felony which carries a penalty of up to five years imprisonment and a $10,000 fine.
Need more information on state laws? Learn more about the laws where you live.
Note: Our attorneys are licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, Maryland, and Virginia. This information is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the states of Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, and Virginia, although if you are injured in an accident, we have relationships with other personal injury attorneys and lawyers throughout the United States.