Dogs are not permitted to run at large in Delaware, unless they are accompanied and under the reasonable control of an owner or custodian. The only exception is for farm dogs.
From sunset to sunrise, dogs must be: (1) confined in an enclosure that prevents escape; or (2) firmly secured with a collar or chain or other device, so they can't stray from the premises; or (3) under the reasonable control of some person. If a dog is running at large and bites someone, the owner or custodian of the dog is subject to civil liability, as well as a fine of $100 to $500 for the first offense, and $750 to $1,500 for second and subsequent offenses.
Need more information on state laws? Learn more about the laws where you live.
Note: Our attorneys are licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, Maryland, and Virginia. This information is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the states of Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, and Virginia, although if you are injured in an accident, we have relationships with other personal injury attorneys and lawyers throughout the United States.