Wisconsin Dog Law
A dog owner is liable for damages caused by his or her dog. In addition to civil liability, the owner is subject to a fine of up to $500. When a dog makes a second or subsequent attack, the owner faces liability for twice the full amount of damages caused by the dog, as well as a fine of up to $1,000. When determining damages, any fault on the part of the injured person is taken into account. In cases where the owner was notified or knew that the dog previously injured a person, domestic animal, or property, the owner is liable for two times the amount of damages.
Common Law Liability
In order to recover damages for a dog bite under the common law, the injured person must prove that the owner's negligence caused the injury.
Dangerous Dog Statute
Wisconsin does not have a Dangerous Dog Statute.
Get Answers to Your Questions:
- Do you have a case? Find out how we determine if you have a dog bite case.
- Do you need a lawyer? Don't go it alone. See how hiring a lawyer gets you a better outcome.
- How much will it cost? You pay nothing unless we win money for you.
Need more information on state laws? Learn more about the laws where you live.
Note: Our attorneys are licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, Maryland, and Virginia. This information is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the states of Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, and Virginia, although if you are injured in an accident, we have relationships with other personal injury attorneys and lawyers throughout the United States.