In Delaware, a dog owner is liable in damages for injury or death caused by the owner’s dog, unless the victim was committing or attempted to commit a trespass or other criminal offense on the owner’s property at the time of the injury, or unless the victim was attempting to commit a crime against any person, or unless the victim was teasing, tormenting, or abusing the dog at the time of the injury.
Delaware does not have a Dangerous Dog Statute that addresses an owner’s liability for injuries a dog may inflict on a person. Delaware does, however, have a statute that sets forth certain legal duties of dangerous dog owners. Under this statute, after Delaware officials declare a dog to be dangerous, the owner must
Violations of this statute carry penalties ranging from $50 to $2,000.
Need more information on state laws? Learn more about the laws where you live.
Note: Our attorneys are licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, Maryland, and Virginia. This information is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the states of Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, and Virginia, although if you are injured in an accident, we have relationships with other personal injury attorneys and lawyers throughout the United States.