Virginia's Hit-and-Run Accident Laws
Penalty for Property Damage Less than $1,000:
- Class 1 Misdemeanor; fine of no more than $2,500 AND/OR imprisonment for no more than 12 months
Penalty for Personal Injury, Death, Property Damage More than $1,000:
- Class 5 Felony; fine of no more than $2,500 AND/OR imprisonment of not less than 1 year nor more than 10 years, or confinement in jail for not more than 12 months
Note: Our attorneys are licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, Maryland, and Virginia. This information is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the states of Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, and Virginia, although if you are injured in an accident, we have relationships with other personal injury attorneys and lawyers throughout the United States.