South Dakota's Hit-and-Run Accident Laws
Penalty for Death or Personal Injury:
- Class 6 Felony; Fine of $2,000 AND/OR 2 years imprisonment
Penalty for Damage to Vehicle/Property:
- Class 1 Misdemeanor; fine of no more than $2,000 AND/OR no more than 1 year imprisonment
Penalty for Damage to Unattended Vehicle/Property:
- Class 2 Misdemeanor; fine of no more than $500 AND/OR no more than 30 days imprisonment
Note: Our attorneys are licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, Maryland, and Virginia. This information is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the states of Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, and Virginia, although if you are injured in an accident, we have relationships with other personal injury attorneys and lawyers throughout the United States.