Montana's Hit-and-Run Accident Laws

Penalty for Injury

Fine of $100-$5,000 AND/OR imprisonment of 30 days-one year

Penalty for Serious Bodily Injury or Death

  • Fine of not more than $50,000 and/or imprisonment in state prison for 1-10 years
  • Revocation of driver's license

Penalty for Damage to Vehicle Driven/Attended by Person


  • First Conviction: Fine of $200-$300 OR imprisonment for not more than 20 days
  • Second Conviction within one year: Fine of $300-$400 and/or imprisonment for not more than 30 days
  • Third or subsequenct conviction within one year: Fine of $400-$500 and/or imprisonment of not more than six months

Note: Our attorneys are licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, Maryland, and Virginia. This information is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the states of Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, and Virginia, although if you are injured in an accident, we have relationships with other personal injury attorneys and lawyers throughout the United States.

Free Case Review
First Name
Last Name
Briefly describe your injuries