Missouri's Hit-and-Run Accident Laws
Penalty for Injury or Death
The penalty for injuries or death caused by a hit-and-run accident in Missouri is a Class D felony, a fine of not more than $5,000, and/or imprisonment of not more than four years.
The penalty for a hit-and-run accident that causes damage to a vehicle drivern or occupied by a person is a Class A misdemeanor if the property damage is less than $1,000.
It is a Class D felony if property damage is in excess of $1,000 or the defendant has a prior violation.
Note: Our attorneys are licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, Maryland, and Virginia. This information is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the states of Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, and Virginia, although if you are injured in an accident, we have relationships with other personal injury attorneys and lawyers throughout the United States.