Mississippi's Hit-and-Run Accident Laws
Penalty for Injury
The penalty for injuries caused by a hit-and-run accident in Mississippi is imprisonment for 30 days to 1 year and/or a fine of $100-$5,000, as well as revocation of driver's license.
Penalty for Death or Serious Physical Injury
The penalty for a hit-and-run accident conviction that caused one or more deaths (or serious physical injury) is a felony punishable by imprisonment of 5-20 years and/or a fine of $1,000-$10,000, as well as revocation of driver's license.
The penalty for a hit-and-run accident that causes damage to a vehicle driven or occupied by a person is a misdemeanor.
Note: Our attorneys are licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, Maryland, and Virginia. This information is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the states of Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, and Virginia, although if you are injured in an accident, we have relationships with other personal injury attorneys and lawyers throughout the United States.