Massachusetts' Hit-and-Run Accident Laws
Penalty for Injury
Fine of $500-$1,000 AND/OR imprisionment for 6 months-2 years Revocation of driver's license/nonresident operating privilege/nonresident operating privilege
Penalty for Death
Revocation of driver's license/nonresident operating privilege/nonresident operating privilege AND Imprisionment in state prison for 2.5-10 years AND fine of $1,000-$5,000 OR Fine of $1,000-$5,000 and imprisonment in a jail or house of correction for 1-2.5 years
Penalty for Damage only to Vehicle or Other Property
Fine of $20-$100 AND/OR imprisonment for 2 weeks-2 years
Need more information on state laws? Learn more about the laws where you live.
Note: Our attorneys are licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, Maryland, and Virginia. This information is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the states of Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, and Virginia, although if you are injured in an accident, we have relationships with other personal injury attorneys and lawyers throughout the United States.