Wyoming Driver Licensing Law
Obtaining an Instructional Permit in Wyoming
Fifteen-year-olds are eligible to apply for an Instructional Permit in Wyoming. Fourteen-year-olds may be eligible for a restricted learner's permit if:
- Their place of residence is more than five miles from school,
- Their residence is more than five miles from work and the driver works a minimum of 10 hours per week, and
- The driver needs a license to work in the family business.
This permit allows the holder to drive for a year while accompanied by a person who is at least 18 years old, holds a valid driver's license, is fit and capable of exercising control over the vehicle, and is sitting in the passenger seat.
When applying, teens need to present proof of identity, pass a vision screening and written knowledge test, and have a parent- or guardian-signed release indicating permission to receive the permit.
Once the application is complete and the permit has been issued, the driver must complete at least 50 hours of behind-the-wheel driving practice, while supervised. Ten of the hours must be driven at night.
This permit is valid for one year.
Obtaining an Intermediate Permit
To be qualified for an Intermediate Permit, the applicant must be at least 16 years old and must have held an Instructional Permit for a minimum of ten days. When applying, the same documentation required for an Instructional Permit is required. At this point, the driver will be subject to a driving skills test, unless they have completed a state-approved driver education course, in which case it may be waived.
Permit holders are only allowed to drive between 5AM and 11PM, except in the following instances:
- When accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 18 years old
- When they must drive for medical reasons
- When they must drive for purposes of employment
- When driving to or from school or a school-sanctioned activity
- When driving to or from an organized youth sports activity
- When driving to or from a religious activity
The driver will need to have each of the above instances verified by the appropriate adult and must carry it with them when driving in the restricted hours.
Drivers are not allowed to drive with more than one passenger under the age of 18 who is not a member of the family.
If the driver is 16 1/2 years old, has held an intermediate license for at least six months, and has completed an approved driver's education course, he/she may apply for full driving privileges.
At 17, an applicant may be issued a Wyoming driver's license with full driving privileges without having been issued an intermediate license or any other type of license or permit. However the applicant may not be is¬sued a license if any current, restricted driving privileges have been suspended.
Need more information on state laws? Learn more about the laws where you live.
Note: Our attorneys are licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, Maryland, and Virginia. This information is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the states of Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, and Virginia, although if you are injured in an accident, we have relationships with other personal injury attorneys and lawyers throughout the United States.