Utah Driver Licensing Law
Obtaining a Utah Learner Permit
Upon reaching 15 years old, Utah teens may apply for a Learner Permit. This permit allows teens to practice operating a motor vehicle while under the supervision of a licensed adult. The adult can be a driving instructor, parent, or legal guardian, or a responsible adult who has signed for financial responsibility. The supervising adult must be at least 21 years old.
When applying for the permit, the following is required:
- A document proving identity and legal, lawful status
- Social Security verification
- Proof of Utah residency
- The applicant must pass a medical and eye exam
- The applicant must pass a written knowledge test
- A parent or legal guardian must sign indicating financial responsibility
- A $15 fee
After obtaining the Learner Permit, the driver must complete an approved driver education course as well as completing 40 hours, ten at night, of supervised driving. Once these have been accomplished, the driver has held the permit for six months and has reached their 16th birthday, they will be eligible to take a driving test to qualify for a regular Class D driver license.
An individual between the ages of 13 and 20 who is convicted in court for possession or consumption of alcohol or for being in a bar and being under age will have their driver license suspended for one year for a first offense and two years for a second or subsequent offense as ordered by the court. If the court orders suspension for a driver under the age of 16, the suspension time will begin on the date of conviction and extend for one to two years from their 16th birthday.
The "not a drop" act provides that a person under 21 years of age driving with any measurable amount of alcohol in his/her body will have all driving privileges denied for a first offense for one year if under the age of 19, or for six months if age 19 or 20. A second or subsequent offense within ten years of a prior denial will result in loss of driving privileges for two years, or until they reach the age of 21, whichever is longer. An individual who has not yet been issued a license will be denied or suspended even though they have not yet obtained a license. The license will be denied for either one year if under the age of 19, or six months if age 19 or 20, for a first offense, and for two years for a second or subsequent arrest.
Need more information on state laws? Learn more about the laws where you live.
Note: Our attorneys are licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, Maryland, and Virginia. This information is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the states of Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, and Virginia, although if you are injured in an accident, we have relationships with other personal injury attorneys and lawyers throughout the United States.