Oregon Driver Licensing Law
Obtaining an Oregon Provisional Instruction Permit
The first step toward obtaining a driver's license in Oregon is obtaining a Provisional Instruction Permit. The permit is available to drivers between 15 and 17 years old and allows them to practice driving while accompanied by a licensed driver, at least 21 years of age, in the front passenger seat.
To qualify for the permit, the applicant must:
- Be a resident of or domiciled in Oregon
- Provide proof of school enrollment, completion, or exemption
- Submit a completed license application with a signature from a parent or legal guardian
- Present proof of full legal name, resident address, legal presence, identity, and date of birth
- Provide your Social Security number
The teen will also have to pass a vision exam and a knowledge test before being awarded the permit. Separate fees will apply.
While holding the Provisional Instruction Permit, the driver can qualify for a Provisional Oregon Driver License in one of two ways. The first option is to attend an Oregon Department of Transportation-approved traffic safety education course and also complete 50 hours of supervised practice driving. Option two is to accumulate 100 hours of practice driving. Practice driving must be supervised by a driver at least 21 years old who has been licensed for at least three years.
The permit is valid for two years but, as long as the other requirements are met, need only be held for six months or until the driver's 16th birthday, whichever comes later.
Obtaining a Provisional Driver License
Sixteen- and 17-year-olds in Oregon qualify for a Provisional Driver License if they have met all the above mentioned requirements. This license is valid until the driver turns 18 and carries the following restrictions:
- During the first six months, driving with a passenger who is under 20 years old that is not an immediate family member is prohibited unless accompanied by a driving instructor or parent or legal guardian who has valid driving privileges.
- During the second six months, driving with more than three passengers who are under 20 years old and not members of the driver's immediate family is prohibited unless accompanied by a driving instructor or parent or legal guardian who has valid driving privileges.
- Driving between 12AM and 5AM is prohibited unless driving between home and work or a school event for which there is no other transportation available, or if accompanied by a licensed driver age 25 or older.
- Drivers may not operate a motor vehicle while using a moble communication device, including talking on a phone and texting.
Drivers are eligible for an unrestricted license once they turn 18 years old.
The DMV will restrict your driving privileges for 90 days to drive only for work purposes with no passengers except your parent, stepparent or guardian if you are under 18 years of age and have:
- Two convictions, or
- Two accidents, or
- A combination of one conviction and one accident.
These restrictions are in addition to the restrictions placed on a driver in the first year of a provisional license. A conviction for violation of these restrictions could result in a suspension or revocation of your driving privileges. If you receive a third conviction or accident, the DMV will suspend your driving privileges for six months even if you turn 18 years of age during the suspension period. For each subsequent driver improvement violation or preventable accident after three, the DMV will suspend your driving privileges or right to apply for driving privileges for six months, regardless of a previous or current Driver Improvement Program suspension
Need more information on state laws? Learn more about the laws where you live.
Note: Our attorneys are licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, Maryland, and Virginia. This information is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the states of Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, and Virginia, although if you are injured in an accident, we have relationships with other personal injury attorneys and lawyers throughout the United States.