Oklahoma Driver Licensing Law
Obtaining an Oklahoma Learner Permit
When applying for a Learner Permit in Oklahoma, the Graduated Driver License Program carries different requirements for those who have completed or are enrolled in a driver education course and those who have not. The former group is eligible for the Learner Permit at 15 ½, while the latter must wait until turning 16. In both instances, written driving exams and vision exams must be passed prior to the issuance of the permit.
When applying for the permit, applicants are required to bring the following:
- A primary ID (state certified birth certificate) and a Secondary ID (Social Security card)
- Social Security number
- Proof of current school enrollment, if under 18
- A parent or guardian, if under 18
- Between 15 ½ and 16, documentation showing receipt of instruction in a driver's education course
The Learner Permit allows drivers to practice driving while accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old. While in the permit phase of the Graduated Driver License Program, the driver must complete at least 50 hours of behind-the-wheel training, with ten of the hours at night. The training must be supervised by an adult at least 21 years old who has held a valid driver license for two years.
The Learner Permit must be held for at least six months.
Obtaining an Intermediate License
If all the Learner Permit requirements have been met and the driver has no traffic convictions, they will be eligible to receive an Intermediate License. This requires the successful passage of a driving skills exam.
Once licensed, drivers will be permitted to drive without supervision between the hours of 5AM and 10PM. Driving outside of the allotted time frame requires accompaniment by an adult licensed driver unless it is related to school, church, or work activities. Further, the Intermediate License permits drivers to carry only one passenger or only people who live in the driver's home, unless accompanied by a licensed adult.
If the driver attended a driver education class, they are eligible for an Unrestricted License once they have held an Intermediate License for at least six months without any traffic convictions. Without driver education, drivers must hold the Intermediate License for a year. Alternately, 18-year-olds who have passed all driving and vision exams are also eligible.
Need more information on state laws? Learn more about the laws where you live.
Note: Our attorneys are licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, Maryland, and Virginia. This information is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the states of Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, and Virginia, although if you are injured in an accident, we have relationships with other personal injury attorneys and lawyers throughout the United States.