North Carolina Driver Licensing Law
Obtaining a North Carolina Limited Learner Permit
The North Carolina Graduated Licensing program has three steps, the first of which is obtaining a Limited Learner Permit.
Teens become eligible upon turning 15 and completing an approved driver education course. Once these requirements are met, written, sign, and vision tests will be administered. Additionally, a Driving Eligibility Certificate or a high school diploma or equivalent is required.
Permitted drivers will be allowed to practice driving while supervised. This requires a supervising driver and restricts driving from 5AM to 9PM during the first six months. Use of a mobile phone or related technology is strictly prohibited.
Obtaining a Limited Provisional License
After holding a Limited Learner Permit for at least 12 months without any traffic violations in the preceding six months, 16- to 18-year-olds may apply for a Limited Provisional License. This license permits unsupervised driving between 5AM and 9PM. Additionally, it permits driving unsupervised when traveling directly to or from work or any volunteer emergency service. The mobile phone restriction remains in effect during this period.
Obtaining a Full License
Once the Limited Provisional License has been held for six months without any traffic infractions, drivers are eligible for a full, unrestricted license.
Note, if still under 18 and the driver drops out of school, the DMV will revoke the driver license.
Need more information on state laws? Learn more about the laws where you live.
Note: Our attorneys are licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, Maryland, and Virginia. This information is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the states of Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, and Virginia, although if you are injured in an accident, we have relationships with other personal injury attorneys and lawyers throughout the United States.