New Jersey Driver Licensing Law
Obtaining a New Jersey Student Learner's Permit
New Jersey teens ages 16 and up are eligible to enter the state's Early Bird Road program. The first step in this process is getting a Student Learner's Permit. When applying for the permit, teens will have to do the following:
- Visit an MVC Agency that offers Driver Testing Services with a licensed driving instructor
- Pass a knowledge test and vision test
- Bring proof of identification
- Show proof of enrollment in a driver training course
- Present a signed letter with parent or guardian consent
- Pay a fee
The permit will be valid for two years and must be carried at all times while the teen is operating a vehicle.
The Student Learner's Permit allows teens to practice supervised driving for a minimum of six months. During that time, driving between 11:01PM and 5AM is prohibited. The permit holder is also required to be accompanied in the front seat by a supervising adult. The adult must be 21 years old and have been a licensed New Jersey driver for three years. Only one passenger, besides the supervising adult, is allowed unless accompanied by a parent or guardian. The only acceptable passengers are parents, guardians, and dependents. Siblings are not permitted.
These drivers are also required to display a reflectorized decal on each license plate. Drivers are prohibited from using cell phones or any hand-held electronic devices while driving.
Obtaining a Probationary License
Once a driver turns 17 and has held a permit for 6 months, drivers who have completed the supervisory period are eligible to take the MVC road test. If the test is passed, the license will be valid for a year.
Drivers are no longer required to be accompanied by a supervising licensed adult. Drivers may not drive between 12AM and 5AM without proper authorization and may not transport passengers, excluding parents, guardians, and dependents, unless accompanied by a parent or guardian.
Drivers cannot use cell phones, hand held video games or any other hands-free interactive, wireless communication device while driving.
Penalties: Teen drivers holding a Student Learner's Permit or a Probationary License cannot "plea down" to "no point" offenses. If a GDL holder accumulates three or more penalty points, they have to complete a driver improvement program. If they fail to complete this program, or if they accumulate additional points, it will result in suspension and postponement of their eligibility to obtain a probationary (if in the permit phase) or basic license (if in the probationary phase).
Obtaining a Basic Driver License
After completing the unsupervised driving, probationary period, 18-year-olds are eligible for a basic, unrestricted driver license.
Need more information on state laws? Learn more about the laws where you live.
Note: Our attorneys are licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, Maryland, and Virginia. This information is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the states of Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, and Virginia, although if you are injured in an accident, we have relationships with other personal injury attorneys and lawyers throughout the United States.