Nevada Driver Licensing Law
Nevada Driver Education Requirement
Upon reaching 15 years old, individuals in Nevada can enroll in classroom driver education. This is only a requirement for teens who live within a 30-mile radius of their school. Students can choose from three different forms of driver education. They are:
- Attending a classroom course and completing 50 hours of behind-the-wheel experience
- Completing an online course and 50 hours of behind-the-wheel experience
- Completing 100 hours of driving experience (this only applies when a classroom course is not available within 30 miles of the applicant's residence)
The behind-the-wheel experience must be supervised by a licensed driver, 21 and up, who has been licensed for at least one year. The supervising adult must sit next to the driver at all times. Ten of the 50 hours must be accomplished at night.
Obtaining an Instruction Permit
At 15 ½, drivers may obtain an Instruction Permit. When applying, individuals are required to:
- Bring proof of identity
- Pass a vision and written test
- Have a parent or guardian sign the financial responsibility section of the application
- Pay a $25 fee
Once drivers turn 16 years old, they are eligible to apply for a full license as long as they have held a valid instruction permit for at least six months and had no at-fault accidents, moving violations, or any alcohol or drug convictions in the past six months.
Passenger Restrictions: Young drivers may not transport any passenger under the age of 18, except for immediate family members, for the first six months after the license was issued. Penalties for violations include extending the restriction for six months or more and fines for repeated violations.
Statewide Driving Curfew: Drivers under 18 may not drive between the hours of 10 p.m. and 5 a.m. unless they are traveling to or from a scheduled event such as school events or work. Law enforcement may ask for satisfactory evidence of the event. This applies to all drivers under the age of 18 until they turn 18.
Obtaining a Full License
When applying for the full license, the individual must then pass a driving skills test. At this point the driver must have met the requirements for driver education, behind-the-wheel experience, and time limits and restrictions. At the test center, the driver will be required to bring the following:
- A parent or guardian
- Their Instruction Permit
- Proof of identity
- Drivers Education Certificate of Completion or high school report card/school transcript
- A completed Beginning Driver Experience Log
- Vehicle with registration and insurance
Within the first six-month period, licensees are prohibited from transporting any passenger under 18 who is not an immediate family member. Drivers are also prohibited from driving between 10PM. and 5AM until their 18th birthday. Travel from school or work are exceptions.
Need more information on state laws? Learn more about the laws where you live.
Note: Our attorneys are licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, Maryland, and Virginia. This information is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the states of Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, and Virginia, although if you are injured in an accident, we have relationships with other personal injury attorneys and lawyers throughout the United States.