Nebraska Driver Licensing Law
Obtaining a Nebraska Learner's Permit
Nebraska allows individuals to apply for and take the written exam for a Learner's Permit 60 days before their 15th birthday. The permit will not be awarded until the applicant turns 15, however. Applicants must successfully pass the written exam and a vision test prior to the issuing of the permit. Once issued, it is valid for one year.
Learner's Permits require drivers to be accompanied by a licensed driver age 21 or older. While holding the permit, the individual must either complete a DMV-approved driver safety course and pass a written and driving test given by the course instructor or present a 50-Hour Certification form that is signed by the supervising parent, guardian, or licensed driver. Ten hours of the 50-hour practice driving requirement must be completed at night.
Obtaining a Provisional Operator's Permit
Sixty days before a teen's 16th birthday, they become eligible to apply for and take the tests for the Provisional Operator's Permit. The permit will not be issued until the date of the birthday as long as the individual has held a Learner's Permit for at least six months. The permit expires on the driver's 18th birthday.
Driving unsupervised between the hours of 12AM and 6AM are prohibited while holding the Provisional Operator's Permit. Exceptions include when driving between home and work or a school activity, and when accompanied by a parent, guardian, or licensed driver who is 21 years old. During the first six months, license holders may not have more than one unrelated 19-or-under passenger without supervision.
Drivers with six or more points on their driving record will be required to complete a driver improvement course before earning full driving privileges.
Obtaining a School Permit
Nebraska also issues School Permits only if the teen lives 1 ½ miles or more from the school he or she attends and either resides outside a city of 5,000 or more people or attends a school outside a city of 5,000 people or more. Applicants must be at least 14-years-old, but no older than 16. A School Permit holder may operate a vehicle unsupervised when going between home and school or when transporting a family member to similar activities. Permitted drivers are also allowed to drive when accompanied by a licensed driver, 21 years or older.
Need more information on state laws? Learn more about the laws where you live.
Note: Our attorneys are licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, Maryland, and Virginia. This information is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the states of Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, and Virginia, although if you are injured in an accident, we have relationships with other personal injury attorneys and lawyers throughout the United States.