Minnesota Driver Licensing Law
Obtaining a Minnesota Instruction Permit
For an Instruction Permit in Minnesota, applicants must be at least 15 years old, have completed 30 hours of classroom driver education and be enrolled in a behind the wheel instruction course. Once those requirements have been met, the applicant must then pass vision and knowledge tests. A parent's or legal guardian's signature is required.
The permit is valid for two years and may be renewed. While holding the permit, the following conditions apply:
- Drivers must be accompanied by a certified driving instructor, parent or guardian, or a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old.
- All occupants of the vehicle must have properly fastened seat belts or child restraint systems.
- Cell phone use, with or without a hands-free device, is prohibited.
- During the Instruction Permit phase, the holder must perform 30 hours of practice driving, ten at night, with a qualified supervising driver. Driver must complete a minimum of 6 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction with a professional instructor.
Obtaining a Provisional License
Qualifying for a Provisional License requires an Instruction Permit holder to be at least 16 years old and have completed the classroom and behind-the-wheel driver education courses. Additionally, the applicant must have held an Instruction Permit for six months. At this point, the driver will be required to pass a road skills test.
For the first six months of provisional licensure, the holder may not operate a vehicle carrying more than one passenger under 20 years old that is not a member of their immediate family. This period also restricts the driver from operating a vehicle between 12AM and 5AM unless supervised by a licensed diver at least 25 years of age or driving between work and home or school and home.
The next six months prohibit driving with more than three unrelated passengers under 20. The license is valid for two years. The seat belt requirement and the cell phone prohibition still apply.Drivers must also complete an additional 10 hours of supervised driving with a licensed driver 21 years or older
The license is valid for two years.
Obtaining a Full License
A driver is eligible for a Full License upon reaching 18 years old as long as they have held a Provisional License for a year without alcohol or drug convictions, or without any accident-related violations.
Need more information on state laws? Learn more about the laws where you live.
Note: Our attorneys are licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, Maryland, and Virginia. This information is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the states of Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, and Virginia, although if you are injured in an accident, we have relationships with other personal injury attorneys and lawyers throughout the United States.