Michigan Driver Licensing Law
Michigan Graduated Driver Licensing
The Michigan Graduated Driver Licensing system is divided into three levels. A Level 1 License requires supervision. Level 2 is an intermediate license that limits passengers and unsupervised nighttime driving. Level 3 allows full driving privileges as long as the driver has successfully completed the previous requirements.
Obtaining a Level 1 Learner's License
Eligibility for a Level 1 Learner's License requires an applicant be at least 14 years and nine months old. In addition to passing the state visual exam and meeting the Department of State Physical and Mental Standards for Drivers, applicants must have successfully completed Segment 1 of an approved driver education program and present the Certificate of Completion. Finally, the signature of a parent or legal guardian is required, as are the appropriate identification documents.
A Level 1 Learner's License requires that holders may only drive with a licensed parent, guardian, or designated licensed adult, age 21 or older. During this time, the permit holder must complete 50 hours of behind-the-wheel practice driving with their supervising licensed driver, ten of which must be at night.
Obtaining a Level 2 Intermediate License
To apply for a Level 2 Intermediate License, drivers must have held a Level 1 Learner's License for at least six months and must be at least 16 years old. At this point, Section 2 of an approved driver education program must have been completed and the Certificate of Completion must be presented. A parent or legal guardian is required to sign the application to certify the 50 hours driving experience has been met. The applicant will then need to pass a Driving Skills test.
While holding the Intermediate License, the following driving restrictions apply:
- Drivers are prohibited from operating vehicles between 10PM and 5AM unless driving to or from work, or driving to or from an authorized activity. Driving with a parent, legal guardian, or a licensed driver 21 years of age or older, as designated by the parent or guardian, is also permitted.
- Drivers are prohibited from operating a vehicle at any time with more than one passenger under 21 years old unless the passenger(s) is an immediate family member, it is to, from or in the course of employment, while doing an authorized activity or accompanied by a designated supervising driver
Obtaining a Level 3 Full License
After holding a Level 2 License for at least six months, 17-years-olds are eligible for the Level 3 Full License. At this point, the teen must complete 12 consecutive months without a moving violation, an accident, an accident in which a moving violation resulted, a license suspension, or a violation of the graduated license restriction. The Graduated Driver License program ends once the driver turns 18.
Need more information on state laws? Learn more about the laws where you live.
Note: Our attorneys are licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, Maryland, and Virginia. This information is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the states of Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, and Virginia, although if you are injured in an accident, we have relationships with other personal injury attorneys and lawyers throughout the United States.