Maine Driver Licensing Law
Obtaining a Maine Instruction Permit
To obtain a Maine Instruction Permit, applicants must be 15 years old and have successfully completed a state-approved driver education course. Pending a vision test and passage of the state written knowledge examination, a permit will be issued.
The instruction permit allows drivers to operate vehicles when accompanied by licensed drivers who have had a valid license for two consecutive years.
When applying for the permit, applicants must bring:
- A completed application
- The driver education completion certificate
- An original or photocopied birth certificate (notarized copies are not acceptable)
- A $10 check or money order
The permit is valid for 18 months.
Obtaining an Intermediate License
After holding the Instruction Permit for at least six months, the Maine Intermediate License is available to drivers who are at least 16 years old. The driver is required to have completed 35 hours of supervised practice driving, five of which must be at night. Then, barring a successful road test, the license will be issued.
Drivers with an Intermediate License have the following driving restrictions:
- Except for immediate family, the driver may not carry passengers unless accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 20 years old and has held a valid license for the past two years sitting in the front passenger seat
- The driver may not operate the vehicle between the hours of 12AM and 5AM
- The driver may not operate a motor vehicle while using a cellular phone
The Intermediate License must be held for at least 180 days before the driver can receive an unrestricted license. During the first two years of having a license, any violation will result in a 30-day license suspension for the first offense and longer suspensions for subsequent offenses. Major violations, such as drunk driving, will bring suspensions, a driver improvement course, community service and $200 reinstatement fees.
And for all drivers, the minimum fine for texting and driving increases from $100 to $250.
Need more information on state laws? Learn more about the laws where you live.
Note: Our attorneys are licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, Maryland, and Virginia. This information is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the states of Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, and Virginia, although if you are injured in an accident, we have relationships with other personal injury attorneys and lawyers throughout the United States.