Indiana Driver Licensing Law
Obtaining an Indiana Learner's Permit
Once 15 and enrolled in an approved driver education program, teens in Indiana are eligible to obtain a Learner's Permit. Applying for such a permit requires proof of enrollment in the driver education program by presenting a valid Certificate of Driver Education Enrollment form from the program. Applicants are also required to present their Social Security number, lawful status. and Indiana residency.
The application process requires the successful passage of a vision screening test and a knowledge examination.
Applicants are also required to have a parent or guardian sign an agreement of financial liability.
Once the permit has been issued, Indiana requires holders to complete a minimum of 50 hours of supervised driving practice, ten hours of night driving, with a licensed instructor or a licensed driver who is at least 25 years old or a spouse who is at least 21. The practice time must be maintained in a Log of Supervised Driving and presented to the BMV at the time of application for a driver's license.The log must be signed by a parent or legal guardian.
Obtaining a Probationary Driver's License
Obtaining an Indiana Probationary Driver's License requires the applicant to have held an Indiana learner's permit for 180 days and to be at least 16 years, six months old. Additionally, the applicant must have successfully completed an approved driver education program. If the driver education program has not been completed, the applicant will not be eligible for the Probationary Driver's License until they are 16 years, nine months old.
The application process requires that minor drivers have a parent or guardian sign an agreement of financial liability. In addition to requirements of residency and identification, the applicant must pass a driving skills test, knowledge examination, and a vision screening.
While holding a Probationary Driver's License, the following restrictions will apply:
- Every passenger in the vehicle must wear a seatbelt
- No use of any type of telecommunication devices unless making 911 calls
- Upon receiving the license, driving is prohibited between the hours of 10PM and 5AM for 180 days. After the 180-period is over, the driver may not drive between 1 and 5AM on Saturday and Sunday, may not drive after 11PM Sunday through Thursday, and may not drive before 5AM Monday through Friday.
- In the first 180 days, the only passengers allowed are licensed instructors, individuals over 25 years old with valid Indiana driver's licenses, or parents and guardians
- You may drive at any time if you are traveling to or from work, a school-sanctioned activity, or a religious event; or if you are accompanied by an individual with valid driving privileges who is at least 25 years of age or a spouse with valid driving privileges at least 21 years of age.
Probationary Driver's License holders may drive at any time if driving from a work, school or religious event, or any time accompanied by an individual with a valid Indiana driver's license who is 25 years or older.
Need more information on state laws? Learn more about the laws where you live.
Note: Our attorneys are licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, Maryland, and Virginia. This information is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the states of Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, and Virginia, although if you are injured in an accident, we have relationships with other personal injury attorneys and lawyers throughout the United States.