Florida Driver Licensing Law
Obtaining a Florida Learner's License
Eligibility for a Learner's License in Florida requires the driver to be at least 15 years old and requires the successful completion of a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course. Along with proof of identity, address, and Social Security number, a parental consent form must also be signed by a parent or legal guardian. This is to be done in the presence of the driver license examiner, or it can be notarized if the parent or guardian will not be present.
The Learner's License test includes:
- A 40-question written test on road rules, road signs, and the Florida Driver Handbook
- A vision test (the applicant must have 20/40 or better vision in each eye and both eyes, with or without corrective lenses)
- A hearing test
Holders of Learner's Licenses may only drive during daylight hours for the first three months. After the provisionary period, they may drive until 10 pm. Traffic violations and accidents will result in loss of curfew privileges. At all times the driver must be accompanied by a licensed driver, at least 21 years of age, occupying the front passenger seat.
Obtaining an Intermediate License
After holding a Learner's License for a year without any traffic convictions, a 16- or 17-year-old may apply for an Intermediate License. This requires a parent or guardian certification that the driver has completed at least 50 hours of behind the wheel driving experience, with 10 hours being at night. The driver must also pass a driving test.
Sixteen-year-olds with the license can only drive between 6AM and 11PM, unless they are traveling to or from work or are under the supervision of a 21-year-old licensed driver in the front passenger seat.
Seventeen-year-olds with the license can drive between 5AM and 1AM, with the same exceptions stated above.
Penalties for Minors
Driving privileges can be restricted or taken away from you for a number of reasons including:
- Traffic conviction while on a Learner's License: You cannot apply for an Intermediate License for one year from the conviction date or until turning 18 years old, whichever happens first.
- 6 points on driving record within a 12-month period: Your driving will be limited to "business purposes only" for 12 months or until you turn 18 years old, whichever happens first. The restriction is extended 90 days for each additional point during the restriction period.
- Blood alcohol level of .02% or more: The licenses of drivers under 21 years old are administratively suspended for six months if they have a blood alcohol level of .02 or more. A second offense results in a one-year suspension. The first offense for refusing to submit to testing results in a suspension of twelve months; a second offense results in an 18-month administrative suspension.
- School truancy: Your license can be suspended for truancy and it will remain suspended until you provide proof of school attendance for 30 consecutive days.
- Tobacco products possession: If you are under 18 years of age and convicted of possession of tobacco, your license will be revoked for six months to one year.
Need more information on state laws? Learn more about the laws where you live.
Note: Our attorneys are licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, Maryland, and Virginia. This information is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the states of Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, and Virginia, although if you are injured in an accident, we have relationships with other personal injury attorneys and lawyers throughout the United States.