Colorado Driver Licensing Law
Obtaining a Colorado Driving Permit
Colorado has three types of teen driving permits. The Driver Education Permit is available to teens aged 15 to 15 ½. The Driver Awareness Permit is for teens 15 ½ to 16. The Minor Instruction Permit is available to those 16-21. These permits are valid for three years following issuance and require applicants to:
- Provide a state or county certified birth certificate
- Provide a Social Security number
- Pass both the written and vision screening tests
- Complete an affidavit of liability guardianship form
- Provide affidavit of completion of a driver education classroom course form indicating the completion and passage of the classroom portion of a state-approved driver education course within six months to application of the permit (this 30-hour course may be taken in the classroom or on the internet)
This permit only allows the holder to complete 50 hours of required driving. These hours are to be logged on a drive time log sheet by the signer of the affidavit of liability guardianship form or a driver education instructor. With permission from a parent or guardian, the permit holder may drive with any person over 21 years old, but that time does not count toward the 50 hours.
Obtaining a Minor Driver's License
Those ages 16 to 20 are eligible to apply for a Minor Driver's License once they have completed the following:
- Held an instruction permit for 12 full months
- Presented a completed and signed Drive Time Log
- If under 16 ½, a six-hour Behind the Wheel certificate is required upon application
- A successful driving test
The Minor Driver's License expires 20 days after the holder's 21st birthday.
Restrictions for Drivers Under the Age of 18:
- Drivers under the age of 18 who have held a minor's drivers license less than 6 months are prohibited from transporting any passenger under 21 years of age who is not an immediate family member.
- A minor driver who has held a license for at least six months, but less than one year, is prohibited from transporting more than one person under 21 years of age who is not an immediate family member.
- Drivers who have had their license for less than one year may not drive between 12am and 5am, unless the minor driver is with a licensed driver over age 21, is driving to a school authorized activity, is driving to a place of work, or in the case of an emergency.
Penalties for Violations of Minor Driver Seatbelt Provisions:
- 1st Offense: a fine of up to $65; 8 to 24 hours of community service; 2 license suspension points
- 2nd Offense: a fine of up to $100; 16 to 40 hours of community service; 2 license suspension points
- 3rd Offense: a fine of up to $150; 16 to 40 hours of community service; 2 license suspension points
Traffic Violation Penalties for Minors:
Minors under the age of 18 who have been convicted of violating traffic laws, with the exception of traffic infractions, to attend and complete a driving course at a driver improvement school. The minor or minor's parent is required to pay the cost of attending the designated driver improvement school.
Need more information on state laws? Learn more about the laws where you live.
Note: Our attorneys are licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, Maryland, and Virginia. This information is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the states of Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, and Virginia, although if you are injured in an accident, we have relationships with other personal injury attorneys and lawyers throughout the United States.