Alaska Driver Licensing Law
Obtaining an Alaska Learner's or Instruction Permit
You must be at least 14 years old to apply for a learner's or instruction permit. An applicant under 18 years old must have parental consent to obtain an original or duplicate permit or to renew the permit. All permits are valid for two years from the issue date or 90 days after the applicant's 21st birthday. They can be renewed one time only. Additional services are available for rural residents.
In order to apply for an original learner's license, the applicant:
- Is required to pass the written knowledge test, pass a vision test, and pay a fee prior to being issued the permit. The Alaska DMV does not accept checks.
- If issued a learner's permit from another state, must obtain an Alaska learner's permit before driving in Alaska
- Must provide proof of legal name and date of birth, as well as a secondary item as verification of the primary document. They will also need to bring their Social Security card
- Must provide their current residence address
Driving with the permit requires accompaniment by a person 21 years or older that has a minimum of one year driving of experience. That person must have a valid driver license and occupy the passenger seat next to the driver at all times.
Obtaining a Provisional License
Alaska drivers who are under 18 but over 16 who have held a valid instruction permit for six months may apply for a provisional driver license. In addition to the successful passage of a road test, this permit requires the following:
- A parent, legal guardian or employer must provide proof that the applicant completed at least forty hours of driving experience. This includes at least ten hours of driving in challenging circumstances, such as inclement weather and nighttime driving While practicing, the adult with you must have been licensed for a year and be 21 or older.
- If while driving with an instruction permit the driver received traffic citations which total 6 or more points in a 12 month period or 9 or more points in a 24-month period, the driver must take a nationally certified defensive driving course
- If the driver is convicted of a violation of a traffic law, they must wait for six months before applying for a provisional driver license
- Applicant must pass an alcohol and drug awareness knowledge test to renew their permit or upgrade from a permit to a license
The following restrictions must be followed by drivers using a provisional license:
- No driving between the hours of 1 AM and 5 AM is allowed unless accompanied by a person who is at least 21 years of age that is licensed to drive the type or class of vehicle being driven or driving to or from your place of employment or within the scope of your employment. The driving must be along the most direct route.
- The driver is not permitted to carry passengers under 21 unless they are siblings
These restrictions no longer apply upon reaching 18 years old. At that time the driver may obtain a regular license, which requires a vision test and replacement license fees.
Need more information on state laws? Learn more about the laws where you live.
Note: Our attorneys are licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, Maryland, and Virginia. This information is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the states of Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, and Virginia, although if you are injured in an accident, we have relationships with other personal injury attorneys and lawyers throughout the United States.