Rhode Island Car Seat and Booster Seat Laws

Rear-Facing Car Seat

Law states no preference.

Car Seat

Children ages 7 and under who are less than 57 inches in height and who weigh less than 80 pounds must use an appropriate child safety seat in the back seat if possible.

Booster Seat

Children ages 7 and under who are less than 57 inches in height and who weigh less than 80 pounds must use an appropriate child safety seat in the back seat if possible.

Seat Belt

  • Children 7 years and younger who either weigh more than 80 pounds or who are more than 57 inches tall can wear a seat belt.
  • Children ages 8 through 17 can wear a seat belt.

Seating Position

Children ages 7 and younger must be in a rear seat if available.

Fines & Penalties

The fine for no use of child restraint is $85. For an operator or passenger, the fine for not using a seat belt is $40.

Need more information on state laws? Learn more about the laws where you live.

Note: Our attorneys are licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, Maryland, and Virginia. This information is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the states of Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, and Virginia, although if you are injured in an accident, we have relationships with other personal injury attorneys and lawyers throughout the United States.

Free Case Review
First Name
Last Name
ZIP
Phone
Email
Briefly describe your injuries