Oklahoma Car Seat and Booster Seat Laws
Rear-Facing Car Seat
Children under 2 or under the height and weight limit provided by child restraint system must sit in rear facing car seat.
Children 5 years and younger must be in an appropriate child safety seat.
Children at least 4 and up to 8 years old and under 4 feet 9 inches must use a booster seat.
- Children 8 years of age or taller than 4 feet 9 inches must wear a seat belt.
- Children weighing more than 40 pounds may use a lap-only safety belt if rear seating positions do not have a lap/shoulder belt system.
Law states no preference.
Fines & Penalties
Maximum fine for first offense is $50 and up to $207.90 with court costs.
Need more information on state laws? Learn more about the laws where you live.
Note: Our attorneys are licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, Maryland, and Virginia. This information is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the states of Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, and Virginia, although if you are injured in an accident, we have relationships with other personal injury attorneys and lawyers throughout the United States.
All of our lawyers are licensed to practice in the state of Pennsylvania. We also have lawyers licensed to practice in Ohio, and West Virginia and we associate with experienced attorneys in other states.
The materials at this web site have been prepared by our Law Firm for information purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice or legal opinion on any specific facts or circumstances. These materials do not, and are not, intended to constitute legal advice. Readers should not act upon this information without seeking professional counsel. The information provided at this site is subject to change without notice. Although we try to keep our site current and accurate, you should not rely on this information or its applicability to any specific circumstances without speaking with an attorney.