Michigan Car Seat and Booster Seat Laws

Rear-Facing Car Seat

Law states no preference.

Car Seat

Children ages 7 and under and less than 57" in height must use a child safety seat.

Booster Seat

Children ages 7 and under and less than 57" in height must use a child safety seat.

Seat Belt

  • Children ages 8 through 15 must be secured in a seat belt.
  • Children who are at least 57" in height must be secured in a seat belt.

Seating Position

Children under 4 should be in a rear seat if possible.

Fines & Penalties

Maximum fine for first offense is $10 for violation of law regarding children under 4; $25 for violation of law regarding children ages 4-8 and under 4' 9".

Need more information on state laws? Learn more about the laws where you live.

Note: Our attorneys are licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, Maryland, and Virginia. This information is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the states of Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, and Virginia, although if you are injured in an accident, we have relationships with other personal injury attorneys and lawyers throughout the United States.

Free Case Review
First Name
Last Name
ZIP
Phone
Email
Briefly describe your injuries