Children 40 inches or less in height must be properly restrained in an appropriate child safety seat.
Children ages 7 and under who are between 40 and 57 inches in height must use a booster seat.
Children ages 6 and under who are taller than 50 inches are permitted to be restrained in a safety belt.
Law states no preference.
Fines & Penalties
Maximum fine for first offense is $50 for child restraint violation; $30 for booster seat violation.
Need more information on state laws? Learn more about the laws where you live.
Note: Our attorneys are licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, Maryland, and Virginia. This information is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the states of Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, and Virginia, although if you are injured in an accident, we have relationships with other personal injury attorneys and lawyers throughout the United States.