Kansas Car Seat and Booster Seat Laws

Rear-Facing Car Seat

Law states no preference.

Car Seat

  • Children ages 3 and under are required to be in a proper child safety seat.
  • Children ages 4 through 7 who weigh 80 pounds or less or are less than 57 inches tall must be secured in an appropriate child restraint.

Booster Seat

Children ages 3 and under are required to be in a proper child safety seat.

Seat Belt

  • All children ages 8 to 13 must be restrained in the vehicle.
  • Children 4 through 7 years who weigh more than 80 pounds can use a seat belt.
  • Children 4 through 7 years who are taller than 57 inches can use a seat belt.

Seating Position

Law states no preference.

Fines & Penalties

Maximum fine for first offense is $60.

Need more information on state laws? Learn more about the laws where you live.

Note: Our attorneys are licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, Maryland, and Virginia. This information is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the states of Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, and Virginia, although if you are injured in an accident, we have relationships with other personal injury attorneys and lawyers throughout the United States.

Source: "Child Passenger Safety Laws." Governors Highway Safety Association. Updated September 2011.

Free Case Review
First Name
Last Name
ZIP
Phone
Email
Briefly describe your injuries