Connecticut Car Seat and Booster Seat Laws
Rear-Facing Car Seat
Children under age 1 or who weigh less than 20 pounds must be properly restrained in a rear-facing child safety seat.
Children ages 1 to 6 who weigh less than 60 pounds must be in proper safety seat.
Children under age 6 who weigh less than 60 pounds must be in a proper safety seat (booster seats can only be used in a seating position where there is a lap and shoulder belt available).
Children ages 7 through 15 who weigh more than 60 pounds.
Law states no preference.
Fines & Penalties
Maximum penalty for first offense is either $50 or $75, depending on the circumstances of the violation.
Need more information on state laws? Learn more about the laws where you live.
Note: Our attorneys are licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, Maryland, and Virginia. This information is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the states of Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, and Virginia, although if you are injured in an accident, we have relationships with other personal injury attorneys and lawyers throughout the United States.