An Update From Our Firm Regarding COVID-19

California Car Seat and Booster Seat Laws

Rear-facing Car Seat

Effective January 1, 2017: Children under age 2 must be in the back seat in a rear-facing safety seat, unless the child weighs more than 40 pounds or is more than 40 inches tall.

Car Seat

Children under age 8 must be in a safety seat in the back seat.

Seat Belt

Children ages 8-16 must be restrained with either a child restraint system or a seat belt.

Seating Position

Children under age 8 must be in a safety seat in the back seat.

Fines & Penalties

Maximum fine for first offense is $100. Maximum fine for second offense is $250.

Need more information on state laws? Learn more about the laws where you live.

Note: Our attorneys are licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, Maryland, and Virginia. This information is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the states of Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, and Virginia, although if you are injured in an accident, we have relationships with other personal injury attorneys and lawyers throughout the United States.

Source: "Child Passenger Safety Laws." Governors Highway Safety Association. Updated September 2011.