Pennsylvania Work Zone Laws
There are many road hazards in work zones – from steep drop-offs and road debris to shifting lanes. Every year there are accidents, injuries, and deaths that occur in work zones.
That's why Pennsylvania drivers should know about the Work Zone Safety (WZS) Law that punishes drivers who disobey posted signs in areas with road construction. The laws are in place for a reason, and they are strictly enforced.
Need more information on state laws? Learn more about the laws where you live.
Pennsylvania Work Zone Safety Laws
The following laws come directly from PennDOT's website:
WZS Law for All Posted Work Zones
Headlights – All drivers must travel with their headlights on in all posted work zones, not just active ones. If you are driving a vehicle with daytime running lights, turn on your headlights to activate the taillights. The fine for driving without lit headlights in a posted work zone is $25. This is a secondary law, which means you can be fined if you’re pulled over for another traffic violation.
Speed-Monitoring Devices – Work zones with project costs over $300,000 will have a speed-monitoring device to alert drivers of their speed prior to entering the work zone.
WZS Law for Active Work Zones
Posting of Active Work Zones – Active work zones must tell drivers when they enter and leave a work zone. A flashing light attached to the "Active Work Zone When Flashing" sign indicates an active work zone. The flashing light is only on when workers are present and is turned off when workers aren't there.
Fifteen-Day Loss of License for Driving Dangerously – If you're caught driving 11 miles per hour or more above the posted speed limit sign in an active work zone or if you're involved in a car accident in an active work zone and were not driving at a safe speed, you will lose your license for 15 days.
Fines Doubled/Jail Time Increased – Fines for certain traffic violations – including speeding, driving under the influence, and not obeying traffic laws – are doubled for active work zones. Also, driving drunk adds up to five years of jail time for people convicted of killing someone in a crash that occurred in an active work zone.
Car Accident in a Work Zone? Get a Free Legal Consultation Today
Were you injured in a car accident in a work zone? Call 412-394-1000, or fill out an online form for a free legal consultation. It's absolutely free, and there's no obligation to use our services.
Don't wait – there are time limits to file a claim, and evidence disappears quickly. Phones answer 24/7