1. First, you have to report the injury to your employer within 120 days of becoming injured. Oftentimes, injured workers think that they're not hurt that badly or the injury will go away. But that's not always the case. That's why you must report your workplace injury if you've been hurt on the job in Pennsylvania.
2. Once you've reported the injury, your employer must complete an accident report. This accident report should detail the nature of your injury, including the time, date, location, and event of your accident.
3. Check with your employer to see if they have a Panel of Physicians. Most employers in Pennsylvania have a panel of physicians – doctors on the list could range from orthopedic to neurosurgeon to family practice to chiropractic. By law in PA, for the first 90 days of your reported injury, you must use the Panel of Physicians to treat your injury. After those 90 days, you can see your own physician.
These are just a few tips to get you started if you've just been injured at work. For more information about what comes next after these first steps, check out Steps to Follow After an Accident from our Workers Compensation Information on our law firm's website. In my next post, I will outline Steps to Take After You've Reported Your Injury.