Vt. Stat. Ann. § 3502. Registration.
Registration required, pursuant to regulation.
§ 3505. Equipment.
ATVs must be equipped with one or more headlights, a red rear light all in working order, and brakes in good mechanical condition and be equipped with an efficient muffler and such other equipment and devices as may be required to meet the noise level specification, and if equipped with a windshield it must be free from sharp or jagged edges. Lights must be on during operation from 30 minutes after sunset to 30 minutes before sunrise. ATVs must be equipped with a muffler system and such other equipment or devices which reduce maximum machine operating noise to a noise level of not more than 82 decibels on the A scale at 50 feet, in a normal operating environment. ATVs must be equipped with a United States Forest Service qualified spark arrester.
§ 3506. Operation. An ATV may not be operated:
An ATV may not be operated to cross a public highway unless the operator is 12 years of age or older and that an operator under 16 years of age must be under the direct supervision of a person 18 years of age or older. An ATV may not be operated on any public land, body of public water, or natural area unless the Secretary has designated the area for use by all-terrain vehicles. An ATV may not be operated by a person under 12 years of age unless:
An ATV may not be operated while the operator is under the influence of drugs or intoxicating beverages. An ATV may not be operated in a careless or negligent manner or in a manner so as to endanger a person or property; An ATV may not be operated on limited access highways, rights-of-way, or approaches unless permitted by the Traffic Committee. In no cases shall the use of all-terrain vehicles be permitted on any portion of the National System of Interstate and Defense Highways unless the Traffic Committee permits operation on these highways; An ATV may not be operated by an operator who is less than 18 years of age unless one of the following criteria is met:
Need more information on state laws? Learn more about the laws where you live.
Note: Our attorneys are licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, Maryland, and Virginia. This information is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the states of Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, and Virginia, although if you are injured in an accident, we have relationships with other personal injury attorneys and lawyers throughout the United States.