N.J. Stat. Ann. § 39:3C-3. Registration; necessity; fee; expiration.
Except as otherwise provided, no snowmobile, all-terrain vehicle, or dirt bike shall be operated or permitted to be operated on or across a public highway or on public lands or waters of this State unless registered. $50 registration fee, renewed yearly.
39:3C-16. Minimum age to be operator.
Persons under 14 prohibited to operate any snowmobile, all-terrain vehicle, or dirt bike on public lands or waters or across a public highway. A person less than 16 years of age may not operate on public lands or waters or across a public highway of this State an all-terrain vehicle with an engine capacity greater than 90 cubic centimeters. A person less than 18 years of age may not operate a snowmobile, all-terrain vehicle, or dirt bike registered in this State on public lands or waters or across a public highway of this State unless the person has completed a safety education and training course.
39:3C-17. Prohibition of operation on highways, streets and right-of-way limits; exceptions.
No person may operate an ATV upon limited access highways or within the right-of-way limits thereof. No person may operate an ATV upon the main traveled portion or the plowed snowbanks of any public street or highway or within the right-of-way limits thereof except as follows:
39:3C-18. Prohibition of operation on private property without consent.
No person may operate an ATV on private property without consent of the owner of the property and the person who has a contractual right to the use of the property.
39:3C-19. Unlawful acts.
It is prohibited for a person to operate or ride as a passenger on any snowmobile, all-terrain vehicle, or dirt bike without wearing a protective helmet. ATVs must have headlights, taillights, brakes, and a proper muffler. Any person may not operate an ATV during the hours from 1/2 hour before sunset to 1/2 hour after sunrise without having lighted headlights and lighted taillights. Any person to operate an ATV upon railroad or right-of-way of an operating railroad, except railroad personnel in the performance of their duties.
39:3C-20. Liability insurance .
required, subject to regulations.
At least one white or amber headlamp having a minimum candlepower of sufficient intensity to reveal persons and vehicles at a distance of at least 100 feet ahead during hours of darkness under normal atmospheric conditions. At least one red taillamp having a minimum candlepower of sufficient intensity to exhibit a red light plainly visible from a distance of 500 feet to the rear during hours of darkness under normal atmospheric conditions. A brake system in good mechanical condition. Reflector material of a minimum area of 16 square inches mounted on each side of the cowling. An adequate muffler system in good working condition.
Need more information on state laws? Learn more about the laws where you live.
Note: Our attorneys are licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, Maryland, and Virginia. This information is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the states of Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, and Virginia, although if you are injured in an accident, we have relationships with other personal injury attorneys and lawyers throughout the United States.