Title required, subject to regulations.
Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. § 324.81103
Child less than 16 years of age may not operate an ORV unless the child is under the direct visual supervision of an adult and the child has an ORV safety certificate in his or her immediate possession, unless engaged in agricultural activity.
Child less than 12 years of age may not operate an ATV with 4 or more wheels unless the child is not less than 10 years of age and is on private land owned by a parent or legal guardian of the child, unless engaged in agricultural activity.
Child less than 16 years of age may not operate a 3-wheeled ATV.
Operator less than 12 years of age may not cross highway, street, or other roadway.
An operator who is not less than 12 years of age but less than 16 years of age may cross a street, county road, or highway if the operator has an ORV safety certificate in his or her immediate possession and meets any other requirements for operation of the vehicle.
Does not apply if participating in sanctioned race or event, as defined by statute.
Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. § 324.81129
Operator under 16 years old must complete an ORV safety education course approved by the department.
Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. § 324.81130
Need more information on state laws? Learn more about the laws where you live.
Note: Our attorneys are licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, Maryland, and Virginia. This information is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the states of Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, and Virginia, although if you are injured in an accident, we have relationships with other personal injury attorneys and lawyers throughout the United States.