ATVs must be registered.
Del. Code Ann. tit. 21, § 6801
ATVs may not be operated on a public highway, street, or sidewalk.
An ATV may be pushed across or along such public way provided it is in neutral or that the power train is otherwise disengaged. An ATV may be operated on a street or highway located within this State for a special event of limited duration, conducted according to a prearranged schedule only under permit from the governmental unit having jurisdiction.
Del. Code Ann. tit. 21, § 6814
A person may not operate an ATV at a rate of speed which cannot be so controlled as may be necessary to avoid colliding with any person, vehicle or other conveyance.
Del. Code Ann. tit. 21, § 6815
A person may not operate an ATV while under the influence of alcohol, any drug, or a combination of drugs and alcohol.
Del. Code Ann. tit. 21, § 6816
A person may not operate an ATV during the period after sunset until sunrise without displaying a lighted headlight and lighted taillight.
Del. Code Ann. tit. 21, § 6817
A person may not operate an ATV in a manner to cause excessive damages or disturbances of the land, wildlife or vegetative resources, or endanger, disturb or annoy other persons or property.
Del. Code Ann. tit. 21, § 6819
A person may not operate an ATV unless such ATV is equipped with a spark arrestor type muffler, in good working order and in constant operation.
Del. Code Ann. tit. 21, § 6820
A person may not operate an ATV upon any property in either public or private ownership without the express permission.
Del. Code Ann. tit. 21, § 6821
A person may not operate a 2-wheel or 3-wheel ATV unless the operator and all passengers are wearing a protective helmet on their heads, with the chin straps properly fastened.
Del. Code Ann. tit. 21, § 6823
A person less than 12 years of age may operate an ATV only if under direct supervision of a person who is at least 18 years of age, or on lands controlled by the parent/guardian. Persons 12 years of age and older may operate an ATV without adult supervision.
Del. Code Ann. tit. 21, § 6824
Need more information on state laws? Learn more about the laws where you live.
Note: Our attorneys are licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, Maryland, and Virginia. This information is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the states of Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, and Virginia, although if you are injured in an accident, we have relationships with other personal injury attorneys and lawyers throughout the United States.