Edgar Snyder & Associates®
A Law Firm Representing Injured People
1-866-9-4EDGAR
Toll Free 24/7 (1-866-943-3427)
Enter your phone number and we'll call you.
- -

Wisconsin Statute of Limitations

Wisconsin

Preliminary Note: Statutes of limitations restrict the time period that a person can file a lawsuit. These statutes not only vary by state, but they also vary by cause of action. The following guide provides limitations periods for each state, but only for particular causes of action; specifically, those related to personal injury, medical malpractice, and products liability claims. The sections discussing special rules for minors only apply to the causes of action listed for that particular state.

Wrongful Death

A cause of action for wrongful death accrues on the date of death and must be filed within three years of that date.

Personal Injury Actions

These actions must be brought within three years of the date of the injury.

Medical Malpractice Actions

Actions against health care providers must be filed within three years of the date that the act giving rise to the injury occurred or within one year from the date that the injury was, or should have been, discovered. In no event may a person file a medical malpractice claim more than five years from the date that the act giving rise to the injury occurred. The five-year restriction does not apply in cases involving fraudulent concealment of the malpractice. In the case of a minor, suit must be filed by the minor's 10th birthday or within the general medical malpractice limitations period, whichever is later.

Medical Malpractice Actions Based on Insertion of Foreign Object

These types of medical malpractice actions must be brought within: 1.) the three-year limitations period for medical malpractice actions; or 2.) one year of the date when the patient is aware, or should have been aware, of the presence of the object, whichever is later.

Products Liability Actions

Products liability actions must be brought within three years after the plaintiff suffers the injury or within three years of the date the plaintiff reasonably should have known of the injury and its probable cause.

Special Rules for Minors

Except in cases of medical malpractice or wrongful death, a minor has two years from the date of his or her 18th birthday to file suit.

Need more information on state laws? Learn more about the laws where you live.

Note: Our attorneys are licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, Maryland, and Virginia. This information is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the states of Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, and Virginia, although if you are injured in an accident, we have relationships with other personal injury attorneys and lawyers throughout the United States.

Free Case Review

First Name

Last Name

City

State

ZIP

Phone

- -

Email

Age

Is an attorney currently handling this case?

Yes No

Briefly describe your injuries


Verdicts & Settlements

$700,000
Truck Accident
Victim was unable to return to his job
$450,000
Passenger Hurt in an Auto Accident
Downed stop sign caused accident
$600,000
Car Accident
Injuries resulted in cognitive problems
View More Results
Awards & Memberships
Awards and Memberships
rating-leave
Close Contact us
Welcome to Edgar Snyder & Associates. How can we help you?
Contact us