Teen Drivers and Car Accidents
Alert: New Teen Driving Laws in Effect for Pennsylvania
Parents and teen drivers, take note. There are new teen driving laws.
The new laws include the following:
- Texting while driving is now illegal for all drivers and is a primary offense. A police officer can pull you over if he or she suspects you are texting while driving, even if you are not committing another traffic violation.
- Teens with a junior license without a parent in the vehicle can’t have more than one friend or similar person under age 18 (who is not a member of the household), as a passenger. If you are not in an accident for six months, you will be allowed to carry up to three passengers with the same criteria.
- You must wear a seat belt, and all passengers must have the appropriate safety restraints — seat belts, booster seats, or car seats. Failing to do so is a primary offense. A police officer can pull you over and fine you $75, even if you haven’t committed another traffic violation.
- Teens with learners’ permits must log 65 hours of driving to get a junior license, including 10 hours of night driving and 5 hours of driving in bad weather.
There are also new texting laws in effect for all drivers. Read more about these new Pennsylvania texting while driving laws.
What to Do When You or Your Teen is in a Car Accident
Being in a car accident is very scary. Whether you were a victim in an accident involving a teen driver, or your own teen is in an accident through no fault of their own, our Pennsylvania attorneys are here to help.
Don’t let the insurance company push you around and try to get you to settle for less than you should receive. From beginning to end, we keep you in the loop and put our experience to work — gathering evidence, hiring experts when necessary, and dealing with the hassles. You can trust us to get you the compensation you need and give you the peace of mind you deserve.
What Will It Cost?
When we say “There’s Never a Fee Unless We Get Money for You,” we mean it:
- Our legal evaluation is free
- No obligation to use our services
- No upfront costs
- No hourly attorney fees
- You don’t pay us unless and until we get money for you
Teen Driving Resources
Use the following links to help your teens stay safe behind the wheel: