Edgar Snyder & Associates®
A Law Firm Representing Injured People
1-866-9-4EDGAR
Toll Free 24/7 (1-866-943-3427)
Enter your phone number and we'll call you.
- -

South Carolina Car Seat and Booster Seat Laws

South Carolina

Rear-Facing Car Seat

Infants through children age 1 and children who weigh under 20 pounds must be secured in a rear-facing child safety seat in the back seat.

Car Seat

Children ages 1 to 5 who weigh between 20 to 39 pounds must use a forward-facing child safety seat in the back seat.

Booster Seat

Children ages 1-5 who weigh 40 to 80 pounds must use a booster seat secured by both a lap and shoulder belt in the back seat.

Seat Belt

  • Children ages 1 through 5 and who weigh more than 80 pounds.
  • Any child 5 years and younger if the child's knees bend over the seat edge when sitting up straight with his/her back firmly against the seat back.
  • Children 17 and under must be restrained in some manner.

Seating Position

  • Infants through children age 1 and children who weigh under 20 pounds must be secured in a rear-facing child safety seat in the back seat.
  • Children ages 1 to 5 and who weigh between 20 to 39 pounds must use a forward-facing child safety seat in the back seat.
  • Children 5 and under and who weigh 40 to 80 pounds must use a booster seat secured by a lap/shoulder belt (lap belt alone is not permissible) in the back seat.

Fines & Penalties

Maximum fine for first offense is $150.

Need more information on state laws? Learn more about the laws where you live.

Note: Our attorneys are licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, Maryland, and Virginia. This information is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the states of Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, and Virginia, although if you are injured in an accident, we have relationships with other personal injury attorneys and lawyers throughout the United States.

Source: "Child Passenger Safety Laws." Governors Highway Safety Association. Updated September 2011.

All of our lawyers are licensed to practice in the state of Pennsylvania. We also have lawyers licensed to practice in Ohio, and West Virginia and we associate with experienced attorneys in other states.

The materials at this web site have been prepared by our Law Firm for information purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice or legal opinion on any specific facts or circumstances. These materials do not, and are not, intended to constitute legal advice. Readers should not act upon this information without seeking professional counsel. The information provided at this site is subject to change without notice. Although we try to keep our site current and accurate, you should not rely on this information or its applicability to any specific circumstances without speaking with an attorney.
Free Case Review

First Name

Last Name

City

State

ZIP

Phone

- -

Email

Age

Is an attorney currently handling this case?

Yes No

Briefly describe your injuries


Verdicts & Settlements

$1,100,000
Work-related Electrocution
Severe injuries
$900,000
Truck Accident
Severe injuries including collapsed lungs
$1,750,000
Passenger hurt in a car accident
Client suffered several leg injuries
View More Results

Law Firm Reviews

I loved my team! My attorney was excellent! She fought for me and made sure everything was okay with disability and Social Security. Everything worked out beautifully.

McKean County, PA

View More Quotes
Awards & Memberships
Awards and Memberships
rating-leave