Did you know that sixty percent of all teen car accident deaths are alcohol-related? This sobering statistic has led many states to pass laws limiting driving privileges for teens in hopes of reducing drunk driving among the nation’s youngest drivers. According to a new study, lawmakers have achieved their goal.
Researchers at the Washington University School of Medicine looked at risky driving behaviors in 45 states and gathered drunk driving information from more than 220,000 16- and 17-year-olds over a 10-year period. Researchers found that teens living in states with the strictest teen licensing laws were half as likely to drink and drive or ride in a car with a driver who had been drinking.
Teen drivers in Pennsylvania with junior licenses are not permitted to drive between the hours of 11 PM and 5 AM unless a parent or guardian over 17 years of age accompanies them in the vehicle. Teen drivers may only drive alone during this time if they’re involved with a public service, volunteer fire company, or employed during those hours. Additionally, teens with junior licenses cannot have more than one friend under age 18 as a passenger unless a parent is in the vehicle.
If you’ve been the innocent victim of a car accident that was caused by a drunk driver, we’re here to help. Call us toll-free at 1-866-9-4EDGAR (1-866-943-3427) or get a free legal evaluation online by filling out the form at the top right of this webpage. You can also use our easy and convenient “click-to-call” service.